Home > Gear, ultralight bicycle touring, What Goes Where > Carradice Camper Long Flap Review

Carradice Camper Long Flap Review

If you’re going touring, you may want to carry some stuff. You could get yourself some really big ole panniers and stuff the bejesus out of them with tons of gear. Or you could get a dry bag, toss in a few necessities and strap it to the rear rack. Or you may want to consider a tried and true method, a saddle bag, if you can find one. Panniers come in an assortment of sizes, shapes and colors from several different manufacturers. Options for saddle bags large enough to tour with are limited to just a few.

Two RVs Passing

Two RVs Passing

The Carradice saddle bag has been around a long time and before the days of clip-on panniers made of space-age water proof material, this or something similar is what people used. But of course humans can never leave well enough alone. Anyway you can still get Carradice bags and a few cottage mom and pop’ers are making similar bags. If you are thinking of trimming a few pounds off your touring kit this is a good way to go.

The Carradice Camper Long Flap is larger than a trunk bag and smaller than a set of rear panniers making it a good choice for ultra light touring. Unlike a dry bag, you still have access to your things without unpacking and repacking it. Also unlike a dry bag, it ain’t dry, so line it with a trash bag and you’re all good to go.

My Snow Peak 700 is a perfect fit for the side pocket with room left over. So I can fit my entire kitchen in one side pocket! With a draw-string closure and an expandable top flap the bag can be overstuffed easily. There are metal attaching points on the flap to bungee or tie extra gear. Made of sturdy canvas and thick leather straps, it should last years and the olive green is a good match to the Ostrich handlebar bag. Mine recently carried two weeks worth of touring and camping gear without complaint. I highly recommend it.

Read the latest CC Long Flap posts.

I purchased mine at Wallingford Bicycle Parts and was very pleased with the service.

 Thanks for reading, Jack

  1. October 1, 2009 at 2:02 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. velohobo
    October 1, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Thanks JimmyBean. I’m just begining to get a handle on the wordpress format (I think I’ve accidentally deleted a few comments).

    Thanks again, Jack

  3. October 12, 2009 at 10:35 am

    I have the Carradice Camper Longflap. I use it to commute too and from university (yes I carry all my papers, books etc that I need in there!) I even manage room for a basic first-aid kit (I’m a St John Volunteer Ambulance Officer), lunch and several odds and ends.

    I’m yet to try it on tours, but I cannot wait!

  4. velohobo
    October 12, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Thanks for the comment Martin and good luck with the Raleigh Twenty! I’ve been wanting to restore an old bike. That one looks like a great project.

    Jack

  5. August 26, 2014 at 10:08 am

    Thanks for finally writing about >Carradice Camper Long Flap Review | The Velo Hobo
    <Loved it!

  1. August 18, 2010 at 4:40 pm
  2. January 2, 2011 at 7:02 am
  3. January 18, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Leave a Reply

