Home > Featured Riders, ultralight bicycle touring > Featured Rider: Igor Kovse

Featured Rider: Igor Kovse

If ultralight bike touring were compared to another human endeavor, say golf, Igor Kovse would be our Tiger Woods. Bicycle touring has very few people who have gained notoriety, Ian Hibell and Heinz Stücke to name two. Igor Kovse is another. Igor continues to push the limits of what is possible in ultralight bicycle touring and we can all benefit from incorporating some of his ideas into our own travels.

Igor sent this email to me the other day to share with The Velo Hobo readers:

My latest trip was a cost-to-coast North America crossing, from Vancouver to New York City. This was my longest and fastest ride so far (6000 km in 37 days) – it seems that I’m becoming faster as I get older. I enjoyed the ride, but I’m starting to miss a bit of the adventure which is usually present when touring in less developed countries. So, for my next tour I am thinking about Africa – it’s also the last continent where my present touring bike hasn’t been yet. Then, when things settle in Tibet, I wish to complete my unfortunately stopped trip from Kashgar to Lhasa in 2005. And after that it’ll be vacation time for me – enjoying the great passes in French Alps. Oh, I almost forgot: somewhere in between I’m planning one year Round The World trip.

All the best,

Igor Kovse

Check out Igor’s website and Crazy Guy on a Bike journal and join me in wishing Igor the best as he continues his travels.

This photo from Igor's web site.

This photo from Igor's web site.

  1. August 25, 2014 at 4:43 am

    It iss not my fidst time to pay a visit this web site, i am visiting this wweb page dailly and get pleasant information fro herde daily.

  1. October 16, 2010 at 9:50 am

Leave a Reply

