Home > Gear > Winter Bike Project

Winter Bike Project

DSC03733

Before


Winter is fast approaching here in the mountains of Western North Carolina. The sun is dipping below the high peaks early in the day and our frequent rains are hinting at a snowy season ahead. It’s the perfect time to start planning a winter bike project. I’ve wanted to rebuild an old bike as a way to learn to wrench on my bikes. I’ve had a lustful eye toward the local flea markets for some misplaced gem, but sadly nothing has caught my eye.

Luckily, I just happen to have a POS in my tool shed. Perfect! This late 20th century hard-tail mountain bike has been collecting dust for about two years following a live demonstration of an almost perfect over-the-handlebars tuck and roll that left me with bruised, if not cracked ribs. I can hardly wait to start plucking things off it to show it who’s boss.

Jack

Categories: Gear
  1. Andy
    November 7, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    go, Jack, go! I can’t wait to see how this pans out…i’d love to hear your ideas and chat about bike building with ya =)

  2. velohobo
    November 7, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Thanks Andy, I’ve stripped it down to bare frame. It took about 20 minutes with a bike mini tool and a hammer and screw driver – (to knock loose the head-set). I’ll start sanding away the old paint next week. I’m thinking of a rigid front fork, maybe the Surly 1×1.

    I hope you’re safe, sound and off adventuring somewhere,

    Jack
    PS: Raquel says hello.

  3. Nathan
    November 30, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    jack…nice site you have!
    your project makes me want to do something with the raleigh supercourse frame gathering dust in my garage. problem is the odd raleigh threading on the bb 😦

    nathan

  4. velohobo
    November 30, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Thanks Nathan,

    Sounds like a great project bike. Send a few pictures if you decide to do it and I’ll post them.

    Blue Skies, Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

