Home > Going off topic > Road to Nowhere

Road to Nowhere

An oddity of human achievement can be found a short bike ride from my hometown.  Leave the metropolis of Bryson City, North Carolina and pedal into the Great Smoky Mountain National Park for about ten miles and your ride will end abruptly at the end of a 1,200 foot stone and concrete tunnel.  Known by the locals as the “Road to Nowhere” it is anything but.  The road leads to miles of hiking trails and a beautiful lake nestled scenically in a bowl of mountain tops.

I blew off the bike project today and opted instead for a spin in the Smokies with my wife, Raquel and Diane, co-owner of our local bike shop.

Thanks for reading, Jack

Bryson City Bicycles

Broken Promise?

GSMNP

Fontana Lake

I guess it just looked like a good place to put a tunnel.

Categories: Going off topic
  1. May 27, 2010 at 3:12 am

    Love reading your stuff. I just watched a movie today and realized your “Road to Nowhere” was in it. The movie is called The Road, based off the Cormac McCarthy book.

  2. velohobo
    May 30, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    Thanks, I’ll check it out. I’ve not posted in quite some time…I guess I’m just all blogged out. And of course when the weather is as beautiful as it has been lately, it’s hard to keep me off my bike.

    Thanks for the post, Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

