Home > Gear > DIY $10.00 Headset Press

DIY $10.00 Headset Press

Unless you have a burning desire deep in your loins, as I did, to press your own headset with a contraption of your own making, I suggest letting your local bike shop do it. Granted, my ‘do it yourself’ press only cost ten dollars, the possible outcome if things turned south could have cost me the price of a new frame and headset. It was very touch and go when the blasted thing started to twist and turn as it resisted entering its’ new home. A little persuading with a wooden mallet finished the job off.

Now that I have pressed a headset, the desire to ever do it again has completely left me.

Before pressing

Ready to press

Whew!!!

The wreckage

Jack

Categories: Gear
  1. Rick
    April 12, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Sometime it only takes one pressing to scratch an itch forever. Glad to hear that you are cured.

  2. velohobo
    July 8, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    Yes I’m cured. Never again will I exert thousands of pounds per square inch of pressure to my bike frame with a homemade contraption. The good thing about having the bike shop do it is if they screw it up…hopefully they will replace the frame.

    Thanks for reading, Jack

  1. February 17, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Leave a Reply

