Home > Gear, ultralight bicycle touring > Jack’s Super Dog Stove

Jack’s Super Dog Stove

The obsession continues; this time with a variation of the Super Cat Stove.  I’ve always found cats a bit creepy, so you’ll not find a single cat food can in our cupboard.  What you will find is Chef Michael’s dog food in 3 ounce cans.  Our beloved Bassett Hound Indio is nuts about the stuff. 

 The Super Cat is a good match for my Snow Peak 700 and I should shave an ounce or two off my touring kit by not carrying the pot-stand/windscreen combo.  Also my last set up, a tea light burner, did not have the fuel volume to bring the water to a full rolling boil.  Build time is about five minutes…boil time, about the same.

 You can download instructions and a template at  Zen Backpacking Stoves .

Stuff You'll Need

15 and 10 hole pattern

low pressure side burner

  1. June 15, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Very cool, looks awesome. And I agree on cats with you – am a dog person, 110%!

  2. velohobo
    June 15, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Thanks Hendrik,

    Your post on the Poo Poo Clinic is a hoot! (but very useful)

    Jack

  3. hamilton
    June 20, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    I sunk to new heights when I bought a $3 can of deluxe cat food so I could make this stove. All the regular cans are the wrong size or have printing on the metal of the can which reeks when heated (but I could have called it the super-squid stove which would have been fun). Mine clocks in at 430/5 for a good boil as well. Do you use a windscreen?

  4. velohobo
    June 21, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    I hope you have a cat, if not you can serve it on crackers as an horderve at your next dinner party. I make windscreens out of thin roofing flashing…but I think I will go with aluminum foil next time out.

    Jack

  5. July 8, 2010 at 2:41 am

    Do you have a link to the specific stove you made? I’ve been experimenting with the soda can stoves and would like to try this next. Thanks! Friedel

  6. velohobo
    July 8, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Sure, here’s the link to the page of templates. http://zenstoves.net/Templates.htm
    There are also some really cool youtube videos as well. I’ve made several Pepsi can stoves as well. The Super Cat is super easy.

    Good luck and thanks for reading, Jack

  7. April 1, 2012 at 7:18 am

    no shagging , she,s goodin.best results use a wider base pot,makes totall
    use of flames.

  8. July 27, 2013 at 10:42 am

    All the basics will usually be covered as well as some progressive skills according to the
    type of course along with the skill level of the operator.
    However it also causes the electrical systems in the forklift to run hot,
    potentially causing burned contacts or even complete motor failure.

    If this is not the case then accidents can always occur.

  9. July 19, 2014 at 11:28 am

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog site is in the exact same area of interest
    as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Regards!

  10. July 21, 2014 at 6:47 am

    Hi to every , since I am genuinely eager of reading this weblog’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It consists of good material.

  11. August 17, 2014 at 2:28 pm

    Hello to all, since I am really keen of reading this website’s post to be updated daily.
    It contains good information.

  12. August 17, 2014 at 11:29 pm

    Fine way of telling, and nice post to obtain facts about my
    presentation subject, which i am going to deliver in university.

  13. August 20, 2014 at 7:00 pm

    No matter if some one searches for his vital thing,
    so he/she desires to be available that in detail,
    thus that thing is maintained over here.

  14. August 25, 2014 at 10:53 pm

    Asking questions are truly fastidious thing if you are not understanding
    something totally, but this article provides
    fastidious understanding yet.

  15. August 25, 2014 at 11:50 pm

    Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to
    see if it can survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube
    sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has
    83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  1. October 6, 2010 at 6:03 pm
  2. November 20, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

