Home > Going off topic > Bicycles, Belly Dancers, Beer and a guy named Tonto.

Bicycles, Belly Dancers, Beer and a guy named Tonto.

I sometimes find myself questioning the realness of reality.  You know, reaching out and touching things before they hop off or disappear in a puff of smoke.  Living in a small resort town can do that.  Squeeze a huge vintage train, a couple of thousand tourists and a few hundred locals into a downtown area the size of a New York City block and things start to take on a surrealistic quality.

belly dancer on a bike

Bryson City Bicycles hosted a party to celebrate its one year anniversary and the summer solstice.  Across the street, the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad is hosting a train robbery (no really, they are).  “During the ride, The Lone Ranger® and his faithful companion Tonto will save the train from outlaws who intend to rob the baggage car that is carrying a shipment of gold!”.  I spend the day wandering back and forth between the two.

BC Bicycles & BC Belly Dancers

Meanwhile, back at the bike shop, the Bryson City Belly Dancers, my wife Raquel among them, prepare to perform for the seventh time.  I search both the store and parking lot for the Nantahala Brewing Company making ready free samples of the local yummy intoxicant to hand out all of legal age.  Where could they be?

Hey, there's my wife!

Great Smoky Mountain Railroad

Meanwhile, back at the train, thousands of screaming children pour off the arriving train excited to have experienced a foiled bloodless heist and to have met a real live Indian sidekick.  Some, no doubt, try to sneak into the baggage car to see the gold.  Outside the depot, Celtic musicians The  Juniper  Trio (yes, both of them are there) begin entertaining the train crowd with traditional Irish jigs.

All two of The Juniper Trio

BC Belly Dancers

Meanwhile, back at the bike shop, the BC Belly Dancers are dancing to Celtic music honoring both the summer solstice and a one day sale on an assortment of bike items.  Mouths are watering in anticipation of free beer as the rock band Grove begins to play.  An angry crowd surges forward after finding out there will be no alcohol provided at the event (okay, not an angry crowd, just me).  My anger is vented when I win a baseball cap and a gift certificate for a massage.  Just before sunset, both venues seem to disappear.  The train depot is vacant, tents are taken down, parking lots are swept clean and the streets are almost empty…spooky.

 I love Bryson City,

 Jack

Categories: Going off topic
  1. October 9, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    You made some really good points there. I looked on the web to learn more about the issue and found most individuals
    will go along with your views on this web site.

  2. April 14, 2014 at 7:28 am

    Hola! I’ve been following your web site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a
    shout out from Atascocita Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!

  3. July 8, 2014 at 9:37 am

    I am truly happy to read this web site posts which
    includes lots of useful facts, thanks for
    providing such information.

  4. July 27, 2014 at 12:25 am

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.
    I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the
    foreseeable future. I want to encourage you continue
    your great work, have a nice day!

  5. August 9, 2014 at 5:37 pm

    The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and tested to
    see if it can survive a twenty five foot
    drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad
    is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely
    off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  6. August 12, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    whoah this blog is wonderful i really like reading your articles.
    Keep up the great work! You already know, lots of individuals are looking round for this info, you could help them
    greatly.

  7. September 28, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    Hello this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors
    or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  8. October 4, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    Hi there, I desire to subscribe for this blog to
    obtain most recent updates, thus where can i do it please
    help.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

