Home > Going off topic > Raquel’s Roadside Ditch Dessert

Raquel’s Roadside Ditch Dessert

Raquel & Jacob pick'n berries

Pre-flattened protein aside, there are tons of roadside edibles in the mountains of Western North Carolina.  Poke salad, ramps, Queen Ann’s lace, mint and berries abound.  This morning’s ride produced our dessert for tonight, blackberry cobbler and blackberry ice cream. 

 Happy Independence Day!  Or if you’re reading this in England…Happy Empire Purification Day!

blackberry cobbler & homemade blackberry ice cream

Raquel’s Blackberry cobbler:

 Ingredients

3 or 4 water bottles of fresh blackberries

1 tablespoon  lemon juice

1 large egg

1 cup sugar

1 cup all-purpose flour

6 tablespoons butter, melted

blackberry ice cream (not optional)

 Preparation

Preheat oven to 375°. Place blackberries in a lightly greased 8-inch square baking dish; sprinkle with lemon juice. Stir together egg, sugar, and flour in a medium bowl until mixture resembles coarse meal. Sprinkle over fruit. Drizzle melted butter over topping. Bake at 375° for 35 minutes or until lightly browned and bubbly. Let stand 10 minutes. Serve warm with blackberry ice cream.

Categories: Going off topic
  1. June 9, 2013 at 1:31 pm

    Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for beginner blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  2. June 9, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. This kind of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  3. July 22, 2013 at 5:34 am

    Ahaa, its nice discussion about this post here at this blog,
    I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

  4. July 27, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% certain. Any recommendations or advice
    would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

  5. July 29, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    Howdy I am so excited I found your weblog, I really found you
    by error, while I was browsing on Digg for
    something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would
    just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to read through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also
    included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    more, Please do keep up the superb jo.

  6. January 16, 2014 at 9:17 am

    I feel this is one of the most important info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. However wanna commentary on some general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is
    really great : D. Goood activity, cheers

  7. January 17, 2014 at 6:19 am

    What’s up every one, here every person is sharing these experience, therefore
    it’s nice to read this blog, and I used to pay a quick visit ths blog every day.

  8. March 9, 2014 at 4:43 am

    I have learn a few good stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how much attempt you place to create any such wonderful infoemative website.

  9. March 20, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    This iis a topic that is close to my heart… Thank you!

    Exactly where are your contact details though?

  10. April 1, 2014 at 7:10 am

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your blog.
    It looks like some of the text in your posts are running off the screen.

    Can someone else please comment and let me know if this
    is happening to them too? This could be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously.

    Thank you

  11. April 1, 2014 at 11:36 am

    Hi, Neat post. There is ann issue together with your web site in web explorer,
    may check this? IE nonetheless iss the marketplace chief
    and a large component of other people will omit your excellent writing due
    to this problem.

  12. October 8, 2014 at 11:20 am

    I truly love our website.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you build this website yourself? Please reply back aas I’m looking to create my very own blog
    and want to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called.

    Thanks!

  13. November 25, 2014 at 2:19 am

    This program can be downloaded immediately off the
    Fat Loss 4 Idiots webpage. Contract your abs and lift your knee high up to the ceiling or back to your chest, hold for 5 seconds and slowly lowering
    them back to original position, allowing your torso touch
    the floor. If they know how to use this weight
    calculator and they know how to get to their target weight without fail, there must
    be some catch to all this.

  14. January 12, 2015 at 3:23 am

    Selecting the best attorney is an important step in the process.
    Adjust your standard of living to fit your new economic reality – if you
    continue with the same behaviors and habits that led to your bankruptcy filing, you will end up in the same difficult position. This could end up as having the consumer’s wages
    garnished, bank accounts attached, or property seized.

  15. July 3, 2015 at 8:51 am

    This is especially common with episodes of a television show.

    Aside from being a popular user based video community, You – Tube is also
    a great place to watch TV shows and movies.
    You will obviously need a fairly fast internet connection to be able to watch these movies online.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

