Hospitality Runs Rampant

Raquel and I are really enjoying the run of tourists passing through and it’s been a blast finding out that some had followed the blog.  

All this hosting has really been motivating me to get back on the Blue Ridge Parkway for a quick run to the Virginia state line.  Two-hundred & fifty three miles of the Parkway snake through North Carolina.  The highest elevation (6,053 ft.) at Richland Balsam, 26 dark tunnels and Mount Mitchell, the highest point in the eastern United States (6,684 ft), are out there waiting for me. 

I’m planning for a mid-September run and I’m hoping to be joined by a friend.  With a week to work with, we should be able to do the trip without punishing ourselves.  Raquel and I did the Skyline Drive and the Virginia portion of the BRP last year and kept our mileage to leisurely 50 or so miles a day.  That’s plenty for me in the mountains.

So, I guess it’s time to train. 

Jack

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

