Home > Featured Riders > Featured Rider: Nathan ~ The Friday Cyclotouriste

Featured Rider: Nathan ~ The Friday Cyclotouriste

I’ve been an avid follower of The Friday Cyclotouriste for some time now.  Nathan’s photographs speak volumes and are a window into a beautiful part of the world.  He geotags many of his photographs giving the viewer an opportunity to go a bit deeper and explore the area by map. 

The message I take away from Nathan’s photoblog, is that a bike tour is anything you want it to be.  If you’re exploring your world by bike, you’re touring.  You don’t have to travel around the world or even across the country.  You don’t even need to spend a night away from home.  You can use your house as base-camp and explore your own home town.  Go out in search of a new coffee shop or pub and you are a bicycle tourist.

Nathan sent this to share with The Velo Hobo readers:

I don’t ride a bicycle rain or shine to work everyday (though I commute ride when possible); I don’t race my bicycle (though I competed in a few events when I was younger); I’m not much of a randonneur (though I’ve done a handful of century rides); and, my touring is infrequent (I rode down the coast of CA a few summers ago). I suppose this reflects the general patterns in my life– neither too much nor too little of anything. But I’m always looking for the chance to learn something new and getting out on a bicycle has helped me do this and has been a constant in an otherwise pretty mercurial few decades.

Thanks for reading, Jack

Categories: Featured Riders

Leave a Reply

