Home > Gear, The Blue Ridge Parkway, ultralight bicycle touring > Blue Ridge Parkway Bicycle Tour: Initial Thoughts

Blue Ridge Parkway Bicycle Tour: Initial Thoughts

The corn tassels are turning brown in the mountains and the morning air has a chilly bite.  Fall approaches and so does the departure date for a quick run to the Virginia state line via the Blue Ridge Parkway.  My touring partner Larry and I have negotiated a date and we have half-heartedly begun training.  My initial thoughts about gear have me sleeping in my Hennessy Hammock, a cold but very light tent alternative.  I’m thinking of pairing it with a Thermo-Lite 2.0 bivvy sack to reduce the chances of freezing to death in some remote Parkway campground.  I’m also thinking of leaving the stove and fuel bottle behind and carrying ‘no-need-to-cook’ food.  As we get closer to leaving I’ll post a more complete packing list.  I would be very interested in hearing any thoughts or advice on the subjects of eating and sleeping on an Ultralight bike tour.  We leave in about three weeks.

Thanks, Jack

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

