Home > Gear > Spokiz Review

Spokiz Review

I picked up a pair of Spokiz sunglasses a couple of weeks ago and quickly put them back on the rack, pretending not to be shocked by the eighty dollar price tag.  I walked around the bike shop nonchalantly looking at plastic tire leavers. I can afford plastic tire leavers.  But they kept calling to me, or maybe it was Diane the bike shop owner calling to me.  Anyway, it’s all a blur.  I now own eighty dollar sunglasses. 

I really like these sunglasses, and I’m not just trying to justify spending the eighty dollars.  My problem with sunglasses is that I hate wearing them.  Of course, flying down the backside of a mountain pass at 45 miles per hour, I need to wear them.  As soon as I’m climbing again, they have to come off.  They are hot, they fog up and get sweaty.  I just can’t tolerate them, so off they come and into a pocket or stuck into my helmet.  I’ve dropped dozens of glasses fumbling around with them as I ride.

The Spokiz have a neat design; flexible spoke-like stems overlap to loop around the head.  Just a gentle tug and they are off my face and around my neck, patiently waiting for the next screaming downhill.  I’m spending less time and attention fumbling around with sunglasses and there is no way to drop them. 

Worth eighty dollars?  You’ll have to decide that yourself, but I can say this is the best pair of cycling sunglasses I’ve owned and I’ve owned many.

Categories: Gear
  1. August 3, 2014 at 5:06 am

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and
    was curious what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog
    like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

  2. August 5, 2014 at 10:00 pm

    Howdy this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code
    with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills
    so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.
    Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  3. August 13, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find
    It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope
    to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  4. September 18, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by
    him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  5. September 23, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    I was excited to uncover this web site. I need to to thank you for ones time just for
    this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every bit
    of it and i also have you bookmarked to look at
    new information on your site.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

