Home > Featured Riders, Gear, ultralight bicycle touring > Touring Rackless or Traveling with a Super Twinkie

Touring Rackless or Traveling with a Super Twinkie

J.A. Tackett sent these pictures and description of his ultralight touring rig proving that it is possible to tour on a bike without racks.  This is a great looking rig that looks as if it is ready for some back country travel!

“I bought the Trek Fuel 80 in the fall of 2002.  After buying the bicycle and reading up on the trouble of finding racks for a full suspension mtb, I just used the bicycle as a daily ride…

Then I started researching about 3 years ago and discovered several guys who make custom rackless packs for mtb.  One guy is up in Alaska the other in California.  I ordered my packs from the guy in Alaska.

The packs I had made allow me to carry everything I need,  total weight 35lbs.  That is including my 3 water bottles 27oz each….and 2 fuel bottles at 22 oz each.  My handle bar pack allows me to carry my “Hennessey 4 season super shelter hammock rated at 20f.  and my goose down sleeping bag rated at 20f. and my foul weather gear.

My frame pack is my food storage.  My seat post pack other wise known as “super twinkie” allows me to carry several days worth of clothing and my MSR mess kit and MSR international stove.  As you can see I have a “moon saddle” a lot more comfortable than the horn saddles.”

  1. September 24, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    That is really interesting. I’d like to see how he mounted the fuel bottles to the front fork.

  2. velohobo
    September 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    I mounted waterbottles to the front forks of my bike last year. On fast downhills (35mph+), with the liquid sloshing about, it set up a pretty disconcerting oscillation in the stearing. I used (and do not recommend if you will be riding fast)Elite Vip Universal Cage Mounts I ordered from JensenUSA. These plastic mounts were just not sturdy enough.

    Jack

    • arlen
      September 25, 2010 at 9:56 am

      what i did besides the metal water caddies….i also have a toe strap tied around the
      fuel bottles (20 oz.)….
      i have been down some very steep grades…with a fair amount of un even surface….
      and my fuel bottles stayed well mounted…
      if you want a close up picture of how i did the straps to the water caddies…
      drop me a line @ conifir@gmail.com and i will j peg you some pictures…

  3. velohobo
    September 25, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Thanks for the contribution Arlen. It looks as if you’ve put a lot of thought into your setup. We have lots of forest service roads and gravel roads here and I’ve been toying with the idea of setting a MTB up to do some bike camping/fishing trips next spring.

    Jack

    • arlen
      September 25, 2010 at 10:15 am

      if you have any questions feel free to ask….
      like i said ….i made a slow study of it….on how to pack what you need with out having racks….and nothing rattles or moves about while i am going down single track or hard top…even gravel roads…

  1. November 25, 2010 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

