Home > Gear > Nigel Smythe Saddlebag Review

Nigel Smythe Saddlebag Review

Okay, yes I spent way too much on this bag, but no I don’t regret it.  At 141 cubic inches I can easily stuff a long sleeved jersey or rain jacket inside with plenty of room left over for the usual spare tube, mini-pump and tools.  Made from sturdy canvas with leather straps, it should last for years and that was my justification for buying a pricey bag.  I told myself I could buy a much cheaper bag and replace it every few years or invest in one that may never need replacing.  Features include an inside pocket, drawstring closure and leather loops on the lid, perfect for attaching a blinkie.  I did need to punch another hole in one of the straps for a more custom fit, but other than that, it has been a great bag.  I picked it up from Rivendell Bicycle Works.

Thanks for reading, Jack

Categories: Gear
  1. November 2, 2010 at 8:31 am

    It is a very nice looking bag that complements your Surley with the Brooks (appearing) saddle. As my mileage has increased, so has my need to carry more “stuff” and I simply can’t do it with my current bag. I stuff more than I want to stuff into my jersey pockets.

    – Zeke

  2. The Velo Hobo
    November 2, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Thanks. I almost always have either an oversized saddlebag or a handlebar bag on whatever bike I’m riding. It may be nearly empty when I start, but as the day warms and I start peeling off clothes it’s nice to have a place to put them.

    These pictures are from last Sundays ride into town for brunch and a vist to the bike shop. My wife had a small Topeak handle bar bag just big enough to carry Andy, the bike shop owner, a cup of coffee.

    Jack

  3. November 2, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Is your bike a Long Haul Surley or a different model? I’ve been looking at them on-line and John at Rolls Rite Bike Shop in Waynesville bought one for himself. I’ve been torn between the LHS and a Salsa Fargo, which is now out in a titanium model. Of course, one needs money for these purchases so I’m mostly just dreaming at the moment. I would like, in the future, another bike and that it be geared toward touring.

    – Zeke

  4. The Velo Hobo
    November 2, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    Mine is the Surly Travelers Check. It’s a Cross Check with S&S couplers. Surly makes great afordable bikes. We are looking at the Kona Sutra for my wife, it’s a good value as it comes with fenders and racks as part of the package. Treks tourer comes ready to tour as well.

    I’m looking (obsessing really) on EBay for an old 80’s Trek. Having a hard time justifying it…I have three bikes now. I believe both the Surly Long Haul Trucker and the Fargo are great tourers. Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

