Home > Gear > Power Grip Pedal Review

Power Grip Pedal Review

This morning I rode to Bryson City Bicycles  with SPD pedals and rode home with Power Grip pedals (thanks for your help Andy).  Making the change mid-ride gave me a great opportunity to compare the two.  I’ve been riding SPDs for, well it’s been so long I can’t remember, decades I suppose.  In the late 1970’s or early 80’s I abandoned toe clips and straps for the new fangled “Look” clipless pedal with the ridiculous plastic triangle that forced riders to walk duck-like.  As soon as SPDs were available at my local bike shop I ditched the Look pedals.

I really like the connected feeling I get from SPDs and the efficiency they provide. Getting as much power from each pedal stroke is important when riding in the mountains.  That was my only concern about switching to the Power Grips.  I was concerned I would lose that connected feeling and that there would be too much flex in the strap to be efficient on the back side of the pedal stroke. 

I was very pleasantly surprised with the feel and efficiency of the Power Grips.  Actually I felt more connected to my bike.  I felt strapped to it.  Probably because I was strapped to it.  The wide nylon strap and spiky pedal work together to glue the foot into place, but with a simple and slight twist, the foot is free to do whatever free feet care to do.  The Power Grip holds steady throughout all of the pedal stroke and, to me, feels like an improvement on the backside and top compared to SPDs.  This may be due to the fact that I leave my shoes laced a bit looser for comfort and blood flow to the toes.  

With Power Grips I can ride in just about any shoe.  I’m hoping to ride in my Tevas in hotter weather, sneakers when riding into town, low top hikers, whatever.  There was no learning curve to stepping in and out.  Just like my old toe-clips of decades gone by, I needed to drag my foot on the bottom and back of the pedal to roll the strap into position for entry.  That technique must have been lying dormant in my muscle memory somewhere because I caught myself doing it without thinking.  Younger riders who have not experienced this may find it annoying until it becomes an unconscious habit.

With only a few miles on them, at this point, I really like them.  Cost? About $40.oo.

Thanks for reading, Jack

Categories: Gear
  1. arlen
    November 8, 2010 at 7:30 am

    several years ago i discovered “power grips”…
    last year i also picked up the “power grip pedals” and the much longer strap….
    so that i can wear my danner boots during winter riding….
    i wished when i first bought the “power grip” straps….
    that i bought the pedals and the extra long straps….
    but live an learn….
    i truly enjoy the “power grip” pedals and longer straps…
    it gives me the chance to switch around all year long from sandals to winter boots…
    i also feel safer using “power grips” compared to clip and clipless operations…
    have known of to many other mtb riders with broken ankles, wrists, arms, etc from not being able to get their feet released from their pedals…
    good subject matter…

  2. Dexey
    November 8, 2010 at 8:23 am

    I’d be interested in a 400 mile report. I keep hearing about how good they are but find my spd’s excellent.

  3. The Velo Hobo
    November 8, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Thanks for the input Arlen and Dexey. I’m looking forward to putting more miles on these. I still have SPDs on my other two bikes, but if all goes well, I may just go with the Power Grips on all. I’ll do a more thorough review at a later date.

    Jack

  4. November 13, 2010 at 5:03 am

    Great work keep it coming

  5. dexey
    November 25, 2010 at 5:45 am

    I’d like to be able to wear my hiking shoes on the bike but these straps are an old idea that I remember from the ’50’s and ’60’s and they got left behind by spd’s. Experience suggests that when things get left behind it is because they are not as good as what replaces them.

    Any further reflections on these Power Grips? Are you still using them?
    Cheers

  6. The Velo Hobo
    November 25, 2010 at 7:27 am

    I liked them so much, I’ve put them on my other bike as well. Beware though, they tend to have less float (or no float at all). I like that, some may not. I’ll do an updated review after I put a few more months on them.

    Thanks, Jack

  7. dexey
    November 25, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    Thanks
    I think I will try a pair myself.

  8. June 19, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website. I’m hoping to
    view the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own
    site now 😉

  9. pinterest
    October 12, 2014 at 9:29 am

    We all know by now, that when you make a habit of connecting with potential
    customers little and often, on topics that they care about,
    you increase the likelihood of them doing business with you.
    The following are four prime reasons why you should be using Pinterest,
    including examples of practical applications:
    . It does mean figuring out where your target audience is engaging
    (social networking sites) and developing a strategy for how you’re
    going to reach them.

  10. January 12, 2015 at 8:00 am

    Yes! Finally someone writes about updated breaking news.

  1. June 16, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

