Home > Gear, ultralight bicycle touring > On Sleeping Quilts

On Sleeping Quilts

Hendrik, over at Hiking in Finland, has posted the “ultimate quilt post”.  I’ve been using a Marmont sleeping bag liner unzipped to the toe-box as a sleeping quilt for a few years.  I toss and turn, become over heated and feel too constricted in a sleeping bag, so I find a sleeping quilt (or my improvised version of one) more comfortable.  If you are in the market for a new sleeping bag, consider trying a quilt.  Check out Hendrik’s site for everything you need to know about quilts and more!     

                                              Hiking in Finland:  Quilt 101

  1. dexey
    November 12, 2010 at 6:20 am

    I also feel constricted in a sleeping bag so I bought a RayWay quilt. I soon found that it was not warm enough. I then tried a JacksRBetter quilt but that was no better. Below 10ºC, well within the parameters of the quilts, I was much too cold. I sleep on top of an Exped Downmat. I have lost a lot of weight and changed from a hot to a cold sleeper.
    I am now using a Feathered Friends Winter Wren bag and expecting to put the JacksRBetter inside of it on occassion.
    I’d suggest from my experience that if you are a cold sleeper the quilts may not cover a sufficient temperature range and they do ‘spill’ the air that you have warmed very easily.

  2. The Velo Hobo
    November 12, 2010 at 8:23 am

    I agree and it may be worth experimenting by sleeping with a bag unzipped “quilt style” before making the invesment.

    Thanks for the input, Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

