Home > Gear > Ode to a Chapeau

Ode to a Chapeau

Russ Rocca, The Epicurean Cyclist, recently posted on a hat he really likes (a Bailey’s Yates Fedora).  It’s a great looking hat.  His post got me to thinking about my favorite hat, my Tilley.  It’s been stuffed into backpacks, dropped into mud puddles, crammed into handle bar bags, suffered downpours, wind storms and washing machines for over a decade and still looks as if it will be with me for decades to come.

A good hat is worth paying for.  They cover up some pretty bad helmet hair for those have hair.  And for those of us who have wisely chosen to stop growing the stuff, a good hat can protect the beautiful bare noggin from harmful UVs.

Check out Russ’ post here.

Check out Tilley Hats here.

Categories: Gear
  1. arlen
    December 6, 2010 at 7:27 am

    i have been using a boonie hat…
    for a very long time….
    i would recommend them….you can beat them to death….and they do not die…
    great in the rain…or a nasty sun beating day….
    for my stepping out hat….
    i have a stetson champaign hat….
    that is also a great rain hat….

  2. December 6, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Another Tilley fan here. Comfortable craftsmanship, and excellent sun protection.

    • arlen
      December 6, 2010 at 9:29 am

      but hats no matter who makes them or style…
      are important

  3. December 6, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    My Tilley hat is my year round “go to” bald head adornment item. I’ve had it for many years now. If I recall correctly, I purchased it on St. George’s Island in the early to mid-90’s when we used to vacation there. I particularly like the hidden pocket in the crown and the little hand out cards that came with it. I’ve given many away during the years. The way it gets stiffer when wet is amazing and the company has the best darned guarantee I’ve ever seen.

    – Zeke

  4. The Velo Hobo
    December 6, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    Yes, great guarantee. They’ll replace it (50% deductible) if you lose it in the first two years. It doesn’t matter if you lose it through carelessness or elephant stampede…they’ll replace it. I think they know, people will love their Tilley’s so much, very few will get lost.

  5. December 7, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Could have used some drop down ear warmers on the ‘ol Tilley today! Brrr… 21 degrees at 1:00 p.m. with a wind as I walked back to the office. Fortunately, I had a fine bowl beef and veggie soup stoking my core! 🙂

    Zeke

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

