Home > Gear, ultralight bicycle touring > Trailering Your Gear

Trailering Your Gear

The Extrawheel Voyager weighs only 8.6 pounds and bills itself as the lightest bicycle trailer in the world.  With a sub-ten pound trailer, can we say pulling a trailer is now a viable option for light, if not Ultralight, touring?  I would like to try out the Extrawheel trailer.  It looks to be very maneuverable.

Admittedly I’ve never toured with a trailer, but this summer I did tour with a friend who pulled a trailer.  I’ve heard people argue that touring with a trailer is not “Ultralight” touring.  I have to disagree.  Without the need for racks and panniers and riding a lighter bike pulling a very lightly loaded trailer, I believe trailering your gear is a legitimate way to tour lighter and less encumbered.  I would be interested in hearing other opinions.

Has anyone out there toured with a trailer?

  1. dexey
    December 22, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    I’ve a Burley Nomad and a Carry Freedom City. The Burley is good for big camping loads and the CF folds – I intend to use it with a folding bike on the trains next year; it easily holds Summer camping gear.
    I’ve also used panniers but, overall, load carrying is simplified with a trailer, imo.

  2. Stan Rathbone
    December 22, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Jack; Cecil yount thought I might have some useful info for you. I traveled San Diego to St Augustine Spring of 09 towing a BOB trailer. The lighter weight bike I rode because of most of the load in the trailer made my rig the most efficient of the 15. This is my opinion of course and with all the camping gear and no support my entire rig was just shy of 90 lbs.

  3. The Velo Hobo
    December 23, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Thanks Dexey and Stan, the gentleman I toured with this summer was riding a titanium Litespeed and probably had a lighter load in his trailer than I carried (although my kit was only 18 pounds). Re-packing seemed much easier for him each day as well.

    Something to consider. Thanks for the comments, Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

