2010: The Odyssey Continues

As this year comes to a close and another begins, it’s time to reflect.  This has been a busy year, both in my private life and the one I share online.  I’ve done some touring, but not as much as I’d like.  Raquel and I explored the Chesapeake Bay area with one of our foster kids.  Using a rented bungalow by the bay as base camp, we joined the largest organized ride in the area and did some exploring on our own as well.  Later in the year I was joined by my good friend, Larry (‘The Tractor’) for a tour of the North Carolina portion of the Blue Ridge Parkway.  If you ever have the opportunity, this is the most scenic ride on the east coast.  It’s also the most challenging. 

My wife and I have hosted some wonderful bike tourists as they passed our way. In order of their appearance at our home: Susan, Christopher, Charles, Rocco, Joe and Emmalee, Russ and Laura, Tomas and finally (unless someone shows up today) Zachary.

 And this silly bike blogging project has taken on a life of its own.  Readership has grown tremendously.  December of last year The Velo Hobo had a little over three-hundred visitors for the month.  That number has grown to well over two thousand a month with daily averages between 70 to 100 and the numbers just keep growing. 

So what’s next?

I’ve received some very helpful feedback from readers.  You’ve told me you’d like to see more ‘Featured Rider’ articles, more on bike camping and more detailed information on packing and carrying gear.  You’ve also told me you’d like to see less on leather tooling (for the life of me I can’t understand why, but okay). 

Plans are in the works for our annual tour of the Outer Banks of North Carolina.  We hope to be joined by friends and I’m looking forward to writing a trip review.  S240s and short tours on the Parkway are almost certain and if you would like to share ‘trip reports’ of your own, just send them in with a few pictures and I’ll post them.

You may have noticed a new tab at the top of the page and a banner ad in the side bar.  Raquel and I will be offering ‘destination day tours’ this spring.  These will be laid back activity based tours of our little corner of the Smokies; gem mining, wine tasting, hiking and more.  No need to lug your bike across the country, rentals will be available through Bryson City Bicycles.  Check back for more details.

Thanks to all Velo Hobo readers for making this a fun and interesting project.

Jack

  1. Thomas
    December 31, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Love your blog, Jack. Wishing you and your family a great 2011!

  2. The Velo Hobo
    December 31, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Thanks Thomas,

    Happy Holidays to you as well.

    Jack

  3. December 31, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Congrats on a very successful year! Now throw yourself BACK UP those stairs and go ride!

    – Zeke

  4. The Velo Hobo
    December 31, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    Will do. I’m walking with only a slight limp. I’m unsure if I’ll ride with a limp…but it will be interesting to see. Happy New Year! Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

