Home > Gear, ultralight bicycle touring > GorillaPod Review

GorillaPod Review

The GorillaPod by Joby is a multi-ball-jointed flexible tripod, light and compact enough to consider making a part of your Ultralight touring kit.  Constructed totally of space age polymers, otherwise known as plastic, it is sure not to rust or trip airport metal detectors.  With the GorillaPod, any fence post, tree limb or slow moving farm animal can become a platform for shooting photos.  A locking mechanism keeps the camera securely attached to the GorillaPod.  Stiff ball joints and good luck keeps the GorillaPod attached to the miscellaneous object of your choice.  Costing about twenty bucks and weighing only a few ounces, it’ll be going along on my next trip.

As always, thanks for reading, Jack  (This was an unsolicited review. I just like it.) 

  1. January 1, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Happy New Year!

    I would agree whole heartedly with your review. I have a GorillaPod and have found it to be an excellent and extremely adaptable tripod. It also comes in a variety of sizes. I’ve attached mine to a signpost at a 90 degree angle before in order to get a shot and it worked very well. It seems to equally hold my Canon Powershot and my full sized Olympus Camedia Wide Angle camera stable although the weight of the full size camera challenged the positioning of the Pod when done on the horizontal. Still, for getting that oddly angled shot, I love my GorillaPod.

    – Zeke

  2. The Velo Hobo
    January 1, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    It one of those, “why didn’t I think of that?” things. Simple in design, very useful. I’m not a great photographer, I’m hoping this will improve my shots. Composing a photograph (with me in the picture) out on the road is usually a compromise between the ideal camera angle and some improvised place to sit the camera.

    On another note, My wife and I spent this rainy day scouting out a short tour we hope to do in August. Bryson City – Murphy – Tellico Plains – Robinsville – back to Bryson City (180 miles). A beautiful but challenging route through the Cherokee National Forest and across the Cherohala Skyway.

    Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

