Home > ultralight bicycle touring > Ultralight Bike Touring Tips from BikeToledo.net

Ultralight Bike Touring Tips from BikeToledo.net

For the UL curious, here is a very basic introduction to UL bike touring from Bike Toledo.  Follow the link below to read more.

Less is More

For those of you who have always thought of touring in terms of grinding your way up hills with raw power, there’s good news. There’s another approach to bicycle touring – ultra lightweight. By carrying less weight, you can greatly extend your range and make pedalling up hills a lot easier. This means racking up a lot more miles (if you’re a mileage freak) and seeing a lot more new territory (if you’re a typical tourist) in the limited time you have. You may even be willing to tackle more elevation or longer distances than usual, opening up a host of dramatic new routes.

here’s the link:  Ultralight Bicycle Touring.

  1. dexey
    January 4, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Well, that is an interesting post.
    I’ve always noticed that the lighter I go the less comfort I have. Either my foam sleeping pad or my Thermarest are lighter than my Exped Downmat but neither offer the same comfort and warmth.I am not interested in miles, but I am interested in seeing. For me, part of the beauty of the bike is that it is a perfect platform for seeing, and being part of, the landscape.
    As your UL author says, ” …..seeing a lot more new territory (if you’re a typical tourist) in the limited time you have” My time isn’t limited, in fact I am time rich. The bike carries the weight and I’ll no longer feel i ought to shave the ounces. Thank you ;0)

  2. The Velo Hobo
    January 4, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    For me it’s a balance between comfort on the bike and comfort off the bike. There are some things I just will not do without (that morning cup of coffee for one). I do find touring in the mountains more of a pleasure the lighter I go, but it also gets plenty cold in the mountains at night even in the summer…go too light and not carry the right amount of warmth and you can be in deep doo doo.

    Thanks for the comment, Jack

  3. arlen
    January 5, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    being a practicing ultralight bicyclist
    comfort is the big thing…
    and boys and girls…
    the older you get…
    comfort is on the top of the list…
    ultralight can be done…
    i have managed to do it…and have been doing it for many decades…
    but what is nice…
    technology has caught up with our dreams and wishes…
    to create the ride we all want…

  4. The Velo Hobo
    January 5, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    When I was a teenager, my friends and I would take great pride in the amount of weight we could carry in our backpacks. We would make a point to try to out-do each other and carry ridiculous things backpacking (especially if there were teenage girls around to impress). Years later my knees are paying the price. Another reason I’m so weight conscious today.

    Thanks for the comment, Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

