Home > Gear, Going off topic > Cluttered Work Spaces

Cluttered Work Spaces

If you own a bike it’s only a matter of time before you start taking the thing apart. Or perhaps you never intended to take it apart, but as the years drag on, it just starts falling apart. Either way, you are going to need a space to work, a few tools and a work stand is nice to have too, but not absolutely necessary. Before I bought my work stand I made do with a car trunk rack hung over a shelf. You can flip the bike upside-down and use gravity and the floor as a work stand for most things.

Before wedded bliss, I lived in a cramped dingy apartment and would put down a small tarp to protect the already badly stained carpet. A small toolbox held enough to do most minor repairs and tweaking. Now that I have been domesticated and actually live in a place fit for human habitation, my bicycle workshop shares space in the garage with a washer and dryer, ping pong table, boxes of weird stuff I’m afraid to open, a craft table, gallons of bottled water in case there’s a world disaster and we get thirsty, camping gear, snow skis, an old dog house my dog refuses to go in…well you get the idea.

Cyclofiend has a page dedicated to other people’s cluttered bicycle workshops. You can almost smell the mildew and bicycle grease as you peer into some of these cluttered work spaces. I found it interesting to look at other people’s collection of useless rims and bent frames, and knowing that many of you are as peculiar as I am, I thought I would share the link. Enjoy.

Here’s the link to the page: Cyclofiend

Categories: Gear, Going off topic
  1. January 27, 2011 at 8:33 am

    Your work space looks great! Storage boxes like those have a habit of multiplying, and spreading both horizontally and vertically. I think I would end up putting down some tape on the floor to mark out “the bike area” at least, to ban boxes of stuff from that area.

  2. The Velo Hobo
    January 27, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Thanks John, I may mark off an area and put up a ‘kids keep out’ sign. I remember in the old 70’s TV show ‘WKRP in Cincinnati’, Less Nessman had taped off where his office walls would be…if he had an office with walls.

    Thanks for the comment, Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

