Home > Gear, ultralight bicycle touring, What Goes Where > Another way to go: Light but not Ultralight

Another way to go: Light but not Ultralight

It’s difficult to pin down a total weight including gear for this tourer.  Every time I’ve gone out with this setup I’ve packed it differently according to where I was touring, length of the trip, weather conditions and so on.  But without gear, the bike, racks, fenders and bags weigh in at 40 pounds.  Not bad for an all steel bike with metal fenders, a decent rear rack, small front rack and kickstand.

 The Carradice saddlebag and Ostrich handlebar bag offer plenty of cargo space.  So the trick is to resist the urge to stuff them full.  This is a trick I haven’t mastered yet, and I’ll even strap a few things to the rack.  This is something I intend to correct this year as I focus on trimming down my kit.  

More to come, Jack

 Personal note:  From my general practitioner, to the orthopedist, to a consultation with a surgeon and now on to four weeks of physical therapy before making a decision regarding options.  It seems that I have both a torn ACL and meniscus in my left knee.  Hopefully with a few weeks of PT the knee will be stable enough to do without the ACL repair and just repair the meniscus.  Rehab will be much quicker and I’ll be back on my bike sooner.

  1. January 29, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    Hi Jack:

    Great news about the knee. Hope all goes as planned.

    You have a picture to the right on my screen by a donkey or burro or two. In that picture you have a small yellow bag behind the seatpost, a small black bag on the toptube behind the stem and what looks like sleeping bag, pad and tent behind the longflap. Is that correct? What do you keep in the small black bag and the yellow bag? Also, do I see a small grey bag behind the seat on top of the large grey bag? Just wondering how you load. I want to adopt something similar because I have size 15 flippers and always a problem with heel strike on panniers.

    Another question is what kind of clamps do you use to attach the water bottle cages to your front fork?

    I really enjoy your blog. Keep it coming.

    Tom

  2. The Velo Hobo
    January 29, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    Thanks Tom,

    the yellow bag is a mesh stuff sack with my rain gear (jacket, booties and helmet cover). That works well and the mesh bag helps prevent mildew. It’s just bungeed on and is quick to access. On the toptube is just my sunglass case I casually ziptied on at the last minute…I’ve switched to Spokiz sunglasses and no longer need the case. They are now just hanging around my neck. Under the flap is a Big Agnes Seedhouse 2 tent and the stuff sack on the rack has a pair of off-the-bike shoes. This year I’m going to try my best to travel with only one pair of on and off bike shoes…so that will be gone as well.

    I bought the water bottle cage attachments from Jensen USA. The did cause some osilation on fast down hill rides with the water bottles sloshing. I recently did a search on Jensen for the same attachments, but could not find them…they do have others though. Look under “hydration accesories”. This is a good way to carry extra water and the bottles were accessable while riding.

    Send us a few pictures (to: velohobo@gmail.com ) of your rig when you get it together and I’ll post them,

    Thanks for the comment, Jack

  3. arlen
    February 13, 2011 at 9:36 am

    a very nice looking rig indeed….well displayed….

  4. The Velo Hobo
    February 17, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Thanks Arlen.

  1. June 24, 2012 at 8:27 am

Leave a Reply

