OBX 2011

It’s now less than one week till we leave for the Outer Banks, and my injured knee has been re-injured.  My poor left knee has suffered a snapped ACL, torn meniscus and now a badly bruised and scraped knee cap.  Of course I’m going anyway.  This is a leisurely paced credit card tour with rest days built into the schedule for sight-seeing.  The terrain is flatter than flat.  I think I could do this trip with one leg propped up on the handle bars. Such is life.  We can’t control illness or weather.  It’s always a risk making reservations, putting in for time off from work, re-arranging your life to make a trip happen.  On this trip I’m weighing the pain and suffering against the amount of pleasure I get in return.  This has been a long hard winter and I really need to be out on the open road.  So Saturday we leave for the coast to explore Black Beards old haunts. 

Stay tuned, Jack

  1. March 23, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Man! I’m sorry to hear about the reinjury! I know what you mean about trying to reschdule time off. Take it easy and don’t do too much more damange to that ACL. I’ll be looking forward to some posts from the road!

    Zeke

  2. The Velo Hobo
    March 24, 2011 at 6:33 am

    Thanks Zeke, I’ll be sure to post about the trip. We’ll have to do a ride together this summer. Jack

  3. March 26, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Sounds good! I provided your link to a fellow from Cincinatti that was looking for some ride suggestions in the area. They are coming back to finish up the Blue Ridge Parkway from NC 215 going south and wanted an additional 50 miles or so on the following day. I made a couple of suggestions but indicated you would know the Bryson City and west area better than I do. You may hear from him!

    Have a safe trip!

    Zeke

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

