Home > Raquel's Almost Weekly Recipes > Raquel’s Almost Weekly Recipe: Meat and Taters

Raquel’s Almost Weekly Recipe: Meat and Taters

Breaking News:  Instant Potatoes No Longer Nasty

It’s been decades since I’ve tasted instant potatoes.  My memory of them is that they were pretty nasty.  I saw these on our local grocer’s shelf and thought I’d give them a try.  This is a quick and simple dinner using common items you could find along the road at almost any grocery store.

No real recipe here.  Just boil two cups of water and pour in the potatoes.  I dressed them up with a small can of peas.  I sliced Summer Sausage and browned it in a pan.  No big deal.

Taste Test:  Yummy.  Instant potatoes are no longer nasty!  Well at least the Hungry Jack brand.  They also come in different flavors.  The potatoes are light enough to consider packing along on a trip and one package makes a generous serving for two people or one hungry Jack.  The summer sausage was good, but a bit greasy.  We may try this with beef jerky or Spam instead.  I know no one likes to admit they like Spam, but occasionally I do and you can find it in most camp stores. 

Happy Feasting, Raquel

  1. ha1ku
    April 16, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    I love spam and I don’t care who knows lol. Mixed with mash taters? Count me in!

  2. The Velo Hobo
    April 17, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    We’ve found it in individual serving foil packets small enough to slip into a shirt pocket. Now there is no excuse to be without a little Spam.

    By the way…I had a weird comment to this post from a vegetarian-militia group…ironically, it went into the spam folder.

    Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

