Home > Gear > Will GPS kill Paper Maps?

Will GPS kill Paper Maps?

I love paper maps.  I love the way they feel in my hand and the way they inspire me to explore around the corner.  I like to draw out my route and pencil in notes as I find new and interesting things.  A well worn paper map is a journal of sorts, reminding me of where I’ve traveled.  In a world of GPS devices, smart phones with map programs and Google maps that show enough detail to be almost an invasion of privacy, are we seeing the beginning of the end of paper maps?  I sure hope not.     Jack

  1. arlen
    April 23, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    like you i love maps…
    i find it so painful even to dispose of just simple Auto Club maps…
    instead i find a home for used maps…
    sort of like an adoption agency for unwanted maps…

    • The Velo Hobo
      April 24, 2011 at 5:25 pm

      Me too, I don’t think I’ve ever thrown away a map.

  2. ha1ku
    April 23, 2011 at 10:24 pm

    When the batteries run out, one had better have a paper map on hand. I think map reading and learning how to use a compass are important survival skills.

  3. The Velo Hobo
    April 24, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    I do think Orienteering should be taught to kids and teenagers. It teaches self reliance and problem solving skills. But I’m afraid it’s a dying art.

  4. April 25, 2011 at 9:01 am

    I hope GPS doesn’t kill paper maps!! I agree that there is nothing quite like reliving a trip by reviewing the maps I used while sharing the tales with friends. There isn’t quite as much juice in gathering ’round the GPS unit. =)

  5. The Velo Hobo
    April 25, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    You’re right Jennifer, it’s just not the same. There is nothing like a real map…and the best place to get your touring maps?…Adventure Cycling Association. Thanks for the work you guys do! Jack

  6. June 22, 2011 at 12:13 am

    Maps carry a lot of history with them and they show us where we have gone, where we are no and where we are going. There is just something rather whimsical about a map.

  7. The Velo Hobo
    June 22, 2011 at 6:23 am

    Very true. GPS units, although handy, seem too utilitarian…maps are works of art suitable for nailing to the wall. Thanks for the comment, Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

