Home > Gear > Vittoria Randonneur Review

Vittoria Randonneur Review

I’m replacing my Vittoria Randonneurs with Vittoria Randonneurs.  I wish I could tell you how many miles I got out of the old set but frankly I just don’t keep track of mileage.  I can say I’ve ridden North Carolina from the mountains to the sea, done three multi-week tours on the coast, more than a few organized centuries and metrics, countless day-rides with friends and now a few weeks of commuting to work.  Not one flat (I also run an additional Kevlar skin inside mine).  There is still tread remaining, but after three years of heavy use, the sidewalls are showing enough wear to justify a new set.  The Vittoria Randonneurs sheds water like no other tire I’ve ridden.  The deep cut V tread channels the water away and grip the road in the heaviest of downpours.  For a few bucks more,Vittoria offers a reflective sidewall for improved visibility.  The 700x28c tire I’m ridding offers great traction on fast twisty descents in the mountains and with a low max pressure (85 psi) good cushion on bumpy roads.  Cost: around thirty bucks and worth every penny.

This is an unsolicited review.  I just like them, Jack

Categories: Gear
  1. George Krpan
    May 19, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    Three years? Yep, those are great tires.
    I considered them but got CST C740 700×28 tires for under 9 bucks each.
    They are tough and roll good but they won’t last three years.
    But, the six tires I bought might last three years.
    They are small for a 28, look more like 25s.
    Not as good as the Vittoria’s but cheap and cheerful, nonetheless.

  2. The Velo Hobo
    May 20, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Nine dollars is a great price.

  3. September 11, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    クロックス ジョージー

  4. February 14, 2014 at 4:41 am

    very durable tyre, still running 26×1.50 after 7000 km

    • The Velo Hobo
      February 23, 2014 at 10:33 am

      Wow, 7000km! Impressive.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

