Home > Gear > Gear Review: Bar Phat and Halo Headband

Gear Review: Bar Phat and Halo Headband

Specialized advertises that it’s BG Bar Phat (gel padding that goes under your bar tape) reduces hand pressure by 50%.  I’m a bit skeptical about the claim; I mean, how would you measure such a thing?  But it is a great product and well worth the twenty dollar price.  I’ve been using the same Phat on my Sequoia for several years and it still feels fresh and cushy under my palms.  Hand fatigue is reduced by both the increase in bar diameter and the shock absorbing properties of the gel.  The gel pad fits the tops and drops of bars, can be trimmed to fit and is very durable.  Another plus, riding gloveless with cushy bars is nice in the sweltering summer heat.

 

Another nice thing to have as the sun beats down is a Halo Headband/Bandana.  A few years ago I decided to stop growing hair.  Despite countless hours of meditation and intense concentration I’ve not been able to completely stop the hair growing process, but I have managed to thin out my mane considerably.  Cooler yes, but now I get a weird tan on the top of my dome in the shape of the vents on my helmet.  The Halo Headband/Bandana cures that woe and keeps stinging salty sweat out of my eyes.  Cost: about twenty bucks as well.

 Jack (Unsolicited review. I just like it.)

Categories: Gear
  1. January 25, 2014 at 8:28 am

    Wonderful work! This is the type of info that are meant to be shared across the internet.
    Shame on the seek engines for no longer positioning this post higher!

    Come on over and discuss with my website . Thanks =)

  2. January 25, 2014 at 9:20 am

    If you desire to increase your familiarity simply keep
    visiting this site and be updated with the most up-to-date news
    update posted here.

  3. January 29, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable know-how concerning unexpected emotions.

  4. March 2, 2014 at 1:00 am

    Thus, while building a business proposal letter always do not forget that the approach to success lies with your company’s capability to fulfill the needs and requirements from the customer. If you are passionate with regards to a cause this is a great strategy to get involved and provide a essential service to your chosen area of interest.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

