Home > Gear > Power Grip Pedal Review (update)

Power Grip Pedal Review (update)

It’s been seven months since my initial look at Power Grip Pedals (check out my previous post here).  I’ve ridden them on three bikes, toured with them, commuted with them and put about a thousand miles on them.  I’ve ridden in the Flat-lands and the Highlands in fair weather and miserable downpours.  So here’s my opinion.

Power Grip Pedals will never dominate the bike pedal market.  Not because they aren’t great pedals; they are great.  It’s because Lance and Lance wannabes will never stick their feet in something that’s practical, affordable and non-aerodynamic.  Their loss.  Power Grip Pedals will never grace the glossy front cover of Bicycle Magazine.  But if they do, would somebody let me know? (I canceled my subscription years ago).

Power Grips cost a fraction of top-of-the-line clipless pedal systems and have the great advantage of being functional with almost any shoe, perfect for touring.  They also have an infinite number of foot positions.  I’ve been riding SPDs for the past three decades and I can honestly say I feel more connected to my bike in Power Grips, but can free my feet with less effort.  This is a good thing since I’m riding with an injured knee. 

One drawback that I should point out is the lack of float throughout the pedal stroke.  This is especially true if you are wearing shoes with lugged soles that dig into the spiky pedals.  This may be a deal breaker for some folks, but I quickly adjusted.  Also, younger riders who have not experienced the ultra-cool foot-drag maneuver to flip up-side-down pedals right-side-up (remember toe clips?) may have a longer learning curve…but practice and it will become second nature.

I’m beginning to become as attached to Power Grip Pedals as I am to my Brook saddle.  That says a lot.

This is an unsolicited review. I just really really like them.  Jack

Categories: Gear
  1. arlen
    June 16, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    i understand …
    i have been using them for 4 years…

  2. June 17, 2011 at 9:19 am

    I hated them!

  3. The Velo Hobo
    June 17, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    It looks like it gets a 50/50 rating. 2 1/2 out of 5 stars.

    Thanks for the comments, Jack

  4. Seattle city slicker
    June 18, 2011 at 10:32 am

    I have been using Power grips on my commuter bikes for years and think they are AWESOME!
    However, I do wish that some clever person would come up with a better attachment bracket. Mine keeps bending and too many adjustments ( for boots versus flats or pumps) on the screw that holds the strap in place strips it out. The devil is always in the details. Still, I wouldn’t trade them in for clipless for commuting.

    • August 20, 2014 at 12:50 pm

      I second Seattle City Slicker’s comment. I have been using them for years on my commuter bikes and bending the little attachment clamp or stripping out the screw as I change from boots or lugged soles to summer flats or high heels. A more adjustable system would be a huge improvement. I’d also like to see a system that works with ergo pedals that don’t have holes in front. I am hoping to switch to a larger platform pedal but am not willing to go Power gripless.

  5. The Velo Hobo
    June 18, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    I’d like to see them put a quick release clamp (instead of a screw and hole system) on the strap. That way you could quickly adjust them to any length.

    Thanks for the comment, Jack

  6. ha1ku
    June 28, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    I rode them for a couple of years. They were great for keeping feet in the pedals, when the roads got bumpy or when it rained. (I will never wear clipless; I like my street shoes.)

    I changed my pedals some months ago and unfortunately they don’t have mounting for the Power Grips. I miss them…

  7. The Velo Hobo
    June 28, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    I’m through with clipless too. Simpler is better when you are miles from where you started. Nothing sucks worse than breaking a cleat bolt off your shoe knowing you have a few more days in the saddle ahead.

    thanks for the comment, Jack

  8. July 28, 2014 at 4:19 am

    What’s up, I read your blogs on a regular basis.
    Your writing style is awesome, keep up the good work!

  9. August 6, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    fantastic publish, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this.
    You must continue your writing. I am confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  10. August 18, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    Howdy very nice blog!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb
    .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds also? I’m satisfied to seek
    out so many helpful information here within the publish, we’d like work out extra techniques in this regard,
    thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

