Home > Gear > Camp soap, shampoo, laundry soap and toothpaste all in one!

Camp soap, shampoo, laundry soap and toothpaste all in one!

While shopping around on the interweb for a new biodegradable camp soap I can both bathe and clean my clothes with I stumbled across this video.  Has anyone used Dr. Bronner’s Magic soap?  I think I’ll give this a try.

 Enjoy, Jack

Video from Opus Moreschi’s All New Year

Categories: Gear
  1. Tom Martens
    July 15, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Hi Jack. I have used Dr Bronners soap for quite a while. It is the only soap you need to take bicycle touring or backpacking. Use it for laundry, shampoo, in the shower, brushing your teeth, doing dishes and for anything else you need soap. It is really the only soap you need.

    I use the stuff at home in the shower, laundry and general cleaning, but I prefer regular shampoo and toothpaste.

    QUESTION

    I love the peppermint Dr Bronners but have been thinking about getting the unscented baby soap version for camping in bear country. I have read that bears love the smell of mint. Do you or your readers have any thoughts on this or do you think it is going overboard?

    Tom

  2. arlen
    July 16, 2011 at 6:58 am

    the only soap i use….
    olive oil base…..

  3. July 16, 2011 at 10:09 am

    Tom, it’s true, bears are attracted to minty, soapy, man-made smells because they associate it with camp and easy food. A park ranger once put the fear of death into me because he saw me brushing my teeth and spitting near my tent. He essentially told me that I was ensuring a painful death by bear-mauling in the middle of the night for putting paste-spit near my tent. Lesson learned!

  4. The Velo Hobo
    July 16, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    I think I’ll go with the unsented as well. I’m usually pretty good about hanging a bear-bag at night with all my smelly stuff inside…but I’d hate to wake up with a bear licking my hair.

  5. July 17, 2011 at 2:19 am

    I have used Dr. Bonner’s soap before and I can say I did like it for camping.
    Of course, I love our own soaps http://www.etsy.com/shop/angelicsoap, which I have used on S24Os. I have never camped in bear country and if I do, I will use unscented soap, for sure 🙂

    Peace 🙂

    • The Velo Hobo
      July 17, 2011 at 5:53 am

      Those soaps look beautiful! (almost good enough to eat, almost like candy).

  6. July 17, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Thanks, VH! They are great for bathing, but not too tasty. My dog thinks I am just sayin’ that LOL!

    Peace 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

