Home > Gear, s24o, ultralight bicycle touring > A simple over-night kit

A simple over-night kit

My Sequoia loaded for an S24O weighs in at a tad less than 35 pounds.  That’s bike and gear, minus food and water.  The Marmont summer sleeping bag is comfortable if the weather doesn’t drop into the 40s and weighs a few ounces over a pound.  The Hennessy Hammock is 1.6 pounds (obviously) and I use the Thermo-Lite Bivy (6.5 ounces) as an insulator.  I lay on the Bivy and use the sleeping bag unzipped as a quilt.  That leaves my cooking gear.  My Snow Peak 700 titanium cooking mug weighs 4.8 ounces.  After four seasons of stuffing it in packs and panniers it’s no longer round…kind of oval, but still works fine.  I combine with a DIY windscreen/pot stand, a mini Bic lighter, two tent stakes and piece of aluminum foil to protect the ground.  Fuel varies with my mood, sometime Esbit tabs, sometime a DIY Pepsi can alcohol burner, sometime just a pile of twigs. There is usually enough room left over for a baggie of coffee.  I almost always have a used book with me; one I don’t mind messing up or losing.  I toss in a ziplock of food.  In my handlebar bag is a GorillaPod, rain jacket, camera and a few comfort items.  The same stuff I carry for my daily commute.  A few bike tools and spare tube are in the saddle bag.

 So, what’s in your over-night kit?

  1. August 1, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    I like the posts you have about the gear you use in different situations. Keep it rollin and thanx!

  2. August 2, 2011 at 4:16 am

    Nice post, thanks. Ive ditched the food part completely, which means you dont need the stove etc. There is always a coffee shop or cafe open somewhere close (Im in the UK, so the Yorkshire Dales is my playground, I may have to bike a mile or so, but a lot of campsites have food facilities)

    Going food less means you save a lot of weight.

  3. August 2, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Nice small kit. I keep getting rid of stuff, but I’m not that light! A full tent is essential for me – too buggy where I am to go without. I could see ditching the cooking stuff.

    Thanks for getting me to think about what more I can get rid of.

    Gina

  4. The Velo Hobo
    August 3, 2011 at 6:20 am

    Thanks for the comments. I may leave the cooking stuff behind next time out as well…too hot to cook anyway. Although where I ride there are few, if any, stores or resturants there are enough no-cook foods I could carry.

    Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

