Home > Skills > Road Hazard!

Road Hazard!

It’s that time of year again.  I’ve recently re-certified in CPR and First Aid.  This is my 9th consecutive year of certification and thankfully I’ve not used first aid beyond applying a band-aid and helping someone who was having a seizure.  Certification is a requirement of my job, but it’s a good idea for anyone heading out for a bike ride.

We invest a lot of time learning to repair our bikes and I’d be willing to bet more people carry a bike repair kit than carry a first aid kit.  I don’t mean to be ‘preachy’; I’m just saying it might be worth your while to invest a few bucks for a small first aid kit and a few hours once a year to prepare yourself for the unexpected.

I’ll let it go at that so I don’t drive off my entire readership.  If you’re interested, here’s the link to the American Red Cross training page.  Just enter your zip code and find a class near you.  For all my loyal readers in Finland and Uganda, I have no idea where you should go for training, but I’m sure there’s something out there for you.

Thanks for reading, Jack

Categories: Skills
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

