Home > Gear, ultralight bicycle touring > Ultralight Fly Fishing ~ Other Stuff

Ultralight Fly Fishing ~ Other Stuff

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.  ~Leonardo DaVinci

Here’s a quick look at the associated fishing gear to accompany the Tenkara rod I’ve put together for bike fishing.

Replacing a multi-pocketed vest, I’m carrying everything I need in a neck wallet.  A neck wallet is one of those nerdy looking things you’ve seen people wearing in airports to carry their passports and boarding passes.  More pockets, just like bigger panniers or bigger backpacks, equal more gear to fill the empty space.   Minimalism is the key to making it all fit.  Just enough line, 4x tippet and flies to keep going for a few days of fishing.  The only tools I’m carrying are a 4 inch Dr. Slick scissor-clamp combo and a small pocket knife.  Waders?  No.  Tevas?  Yes.   Although as cooler temperatures creep into the mountains, I may have to rethink that.  Collapsible wading staff?  No.  Stick I picked up off the ground?  Yes.  I’ve taken my inspiration from Jason Klass and other UL backpacking anglers’ minimalist common sense approach to fishing.

So far I’ve spent less than a hundred bucks and only added about a pound to my touring kit.  Is it worth it?  For me, yes.  If I were really into photography, cooking or Irish road bowling I could have added more weight and expense to my kit.  I just need to be careful not to get too addicted to Tenkara.  If I do, I may be giving this bike touring blog away.

Thanks for reading, Jack

  1. September 10, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    Be interesting to hear how that multi-piece rod handles a roll cast. I’ve thought many times about one of these but I worry about joins loosening up over time. What’s your experience thus far?

  2. The Velo Hobo
    September 11, 2011 at 4:09 am

    So far, it’s doing great. Casting is fine too, just very different than a Western style setup. The pole is much longer and the line is much shorter and a smaller diameter. Jack

  3. arol
    September 16, 2011 at 5:57 am

    Looks like a great kit on your bike in the photos. Who makes the saddlebag?

    • The Velo Hobo
      September 16, 2011 at 6:12 am

      It’s a Carridace Camper Long Flap. It’s working out really well. Thanks for the comment, Jack

  4. arlen
    September 17, 2011 at 6:03 am

    nice set up….
    i have been using for several decades….an “eagle claw”
    breaks down to 16 inches in length …4 pieces….
    but i like yours that you have set up…

  5. The Velo Hobo
    September 17, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Thanks, I have a 5 piece Cabelas I’ve had for about 15 years…I may switch back and forth between the two as soon as the “New” has worn off the Tenkara.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

