Home > Going off topic > Confessions of a Recovering Hammer-Head

Confessions of a Recovering Hammer-Head

Hello.  My name is Jack and I’m a recovering hammer-head.  You may have seen me before.  I’m the guy who flew by you screaming “On your left!!!!!”  You remember, I was the one riding an inch off your back tire.  The one deep in the drops, clipped in, head low, elbows in.  That was way back in the early 80’s.  I rode like a racer, dressed like a racer, and rode a racing bike but I’ve never been in a single race. 

That was over thirty years ago. I think I’m in full remission and not likely to relapse. My palms no longer get sweaty when I see an all carbon bike and I can’t even remember how to spell paleton or have a clear recollection of what VO2Max is (a shampoo maybe?).  I pawned my heart rate monitor decades ago to pay off a bar tab.  I can’t remember the last time I rode a bike with a computer on it.

I’m 48 and getting thick around the middle.  I’m no longer aerodynamic.  My knee is shredded and pops out of joint if I try to sprint, not that I ever try.  But every year my love for cycling grows deeper.  No, that’s not it.  Every year my love for where bicycles take me grows deeper. 

If you’ve stumbled across this blog, and for some odd reason, keep returning, maybe hoping it will get better, 2012 will be an interesting year. 

Thanks for reading, Jack

Categories: Going off topic
  1. January 1, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    Touche’!

    • The Velo Hobo
      January 24, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      ¡Olé!

  2. Ferddy
    February 24, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    Can I ever relate.. I didn’t start biking until 55yrs old. I built and flew ultralight airplanes for many years. I used to look down and wonder what I was seeing was like up close. One day I got on my sons bike and rode for a mile. Came home, layed in the front yard gasping for air. That was 100 lbs ago.

    I got into mtn biking and road riding. Constantly upgrading, head down, hammering to the best of my ability. Seeing how far, how fast I could go. Time finally caught up with me. So with sore knees and hips, I stopped chasing the avg. mph and chucked the computer. Now I ride for the love of riding, riding my fat tire bike more than 700 x 23 shod bike. I get off from time to time, not thinking I’m a failure if I stop. I am now 68 yrs. old and hope to keep riding for many more miles..

    • The Velo Hobo
      February 24, 2012 at 5:34 pm

      Thanks for the comment Freddy and I happy to see more and more people tossing the computer aside. See you out there! Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

