Home > Gear > Review: Sugoi Resistor Bike Booties

Review: Sugoi Resistor Bike Booties

As the temps drop into the single digit range in the ridge tops of the Smokies, I have two choices if I want to avoid the cursed stationary trainer.  One, seek out lower elevations.  Two, say ‘frostbite be damned, I’m riding as high as I can go”.  As often as possible, I’ll take choice two.  A good pair of booties is worth the price to keep toes toasty, warm and dry. 

I’ve owned this pair of Sugoi Resistor bike booties around four or five years now.  They’ve ridden from the mountains of North Carolina to the coast and on countless shorter tours and day rides and are holding up remarkably well.  They’re always with me on tours, stuffed away with my rain jacket and helmet cover and are very easy to put on and take off.  In the dead of winter they provide just enough wind resistance and insulation to keep my feet comfortable in the coldest weather.

The 8 inch high Sugoi is made from a fleece lined rubberized material.  Features include a full length rear zipper held securely in place with a Velcro tab. An un-coated yellow material in the heel and toe creates a nice snug fit and an elastic band runs across the middle.  The bottom is open to allow for cleats and this also makes them more durable for walking around during the ride.  Reflective trim and logo adds to visibility. Cost is somewhere around fifty bucks and we bought ours from REI.  Well worth every penny.

This was an unsolicited review.  I just like them, Jack

Categories: Gear
  1. arlen
    January 2, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    living in snow country…(minnesota)….
    and having platform pedals (power grips)
    i have tried everything…out of “performance bike shop” for foot warmth
    wasted so much money …
    i wear my “Dannier” high top winter bob sole boots during snow storms…
    i tell you those “power grip” pedals make a world of difference…
    that is being able to wear a variety of different boots, sandals, shoes….
    i have experimented with “neoprene socks…
    they have impressed me on how warm they will keep your feet when wearing sandals …
    but you need to use a sock liner then smart wool socks…
    the sock liner seems to be the cats meow….

    • January 2, 2012 at 6:09 pm

      I’m with ‘arlen’, when I ride in Toronto winters. On the worst days: wool-socks, gore-tex boot liners, shoes/boots, neoprene overshoes, sometimes with neoprene toe-covers inside that. No, on the worst days I add a chemical heat-pack toe-warmer between the wool socks and the boot liners!

      • The Velo Hobo
        January 2, 2012 at 6:21 pm

        Yikes, Toronto in the winter. That’s hard core cold. I’ve used chemical heat packs in my gloves as well. They work pretty well.

        Thanks for the comment, Jack

  2. The Velo Hobo
    January 2, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    I agree about the Power Grips. I love them.

    Later in the season I’ll be wearing knee-high ski socks as well. Thanks for the comment Arlen.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

