Home > Gear > Campmor: A Great Source for Outdoor Gear

Campmor: A Great Source for Outdoor Gear

Before I say a word about my favorite outdoor gear supplier, let me say that I am in no way affiliated with the retailer.  This is a totally unsolicited review of what I believe to be the best source for most anything camping related.

Campmor has been around since 1978.  In 1978 I was a poor kid living in a mountain community with few opportunities for shopping around for gear.  This was years before Al Gore invented the internet and even if he had there were no computers to use it.  Catalogs were my only choice for lusting after gear.

Campmor’s catalogs were small un-glossy things without photographs.  All the goodies, from snow shoes to Swiss Army knives were simple line drawings and still are to this day.  Campmor must have a team of artists locked away in some back room feverishly drawing each and every item.  Of course today (thanks to computer scientist and former VP Al Gore) you can go to their websight and see pictures of the items.  I sincerely hope this new technology doesn’t put line drawing artists out of business.

But anyway, if you’re new to outdoor sports or have never happened across Campmor, give them a look.  After several decades of buying tons of gear from them, I have never had a bad experience and their prices are usually the best around. ~ Here’s the link: Campmor

Just my opinion, Jack

Categories: Gear
  1. arlen
    January 16, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    i like you have found many great items for bike camping as well as every day use…
    and i have done my best to share with others by passing on my catalogs…
    great subject…

    • The Velo Hobo
      January 17, 2012 at 7:17 am

      They have some quirky items as well. Like a female portable urinal?

  2. January 16, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    Al Gore invented the Internet??

    Haha!

    • The Velo Hobo
      January 17, 2012 at 7:20 am

      Yes he invented the internet and Dick Chaney invented a water park amusement ride. Some sort of dunking machine I think. We have the most creative Vice Presidents.

  3. clay
    January 16, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Back in those early days there was only a few places like that. REI, Campmor and LLBean. I remember pouring over those catalogs and a-wishin’ I had some money.

    • The Velo Hobo
      January 17, 2012 at 7:21 am

      It’s a great way to spend the winter hours, looking at gear & day dreaming of the next trip out. Now I find myself pouring over maps instead.

  4. January 16, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    I’ve visited their Paramus store a few times and had positive experiences there, too. Once I went and asked if they could fabricate this webbing snap buckle release thing I had in my imagination, and without blinking, they took me back to this heavy-duty sewing machine and whipped one up for me.

    • The Velo Hobo
      January 17, 2012 at 7:28 am

      We have a few outdoor retailers in our area now (not Campmor), but they are staffed with young kids who are pretty well experienced with just one outdoor sport (snow boarding, climbing, hiking, mnt. biking, whatever).

      I’d like to visit one of their retail outlets.

  5. January 21, 2012 at 6:54 am

    Campmor was the place I got my first set of camping stuff. I agonized over every item for my limited budget. The hours I spent reading that catalog! While I really like the drawings and the feel of the paper they used, I was especially taken by the product descriptions. Those really got me dreaming of adventures.

    Gina

  6. The Velo Hobo
    January 21, 2012 at 8:00 am

    They have some pretty unusual stuff too like a female portable urinal (I don’t even want to know what that is). I like their selection of freeze dried food too.

    Thanks for the comment Gina, I’m enjoying your blog, Jack

  7. marcusn
    February 9, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    I have to admit, I went off Campmor when they stopped posting user reviews on their website. I also feel much better supporting retailers like REI and Patagonia, knowing they have a ‘do good’ spirit to them. Still, for budget items, Campmor works.

  8. September 26, 2012 at 11:13 am

    Wow! very informative post! I was actually looking for blogs discussing about outdoor gear when I stumbled across this post. I find it really interesting to even read more of your previous articles. Thank you for sharing this information to the public as it can be of great help for sure. 😉

  9. August 31, 2014 at 4:36 am

    After study just a few of the weblog posts on your web site now, and
    I truly like your means of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website
    list and will probably be checking back soon. Pls
    check out my web site as well and let me know what you
    think.

  10. September 1, 2014 at 3:37 pm

    Be sure that you want to develop, need not have a PDA /
    Phone with a quality family guy the quest for stuff hack very close to
    the interest of all profession.

  11. September 3, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Cheers

  12. September 5, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I
    would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me.
    I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  13. September 6, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    Match up real leagues, teams and players in international tournaments and
    cup competitions. I think everyone knows the Android
    System has become the most common system now. Some bingo websites
    even offer free of charge bingo games as an element of the reward to motivate gamers.

  14. September 6, 2014 at 11:36 pm

    I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else
    know such detailed about my problem. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  15. September 8, 2014 at 12:55 am

    Hi! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to
    all your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!

  16. September 8, 2014 at 8:17 am

    Using the latest models like the A5X chip with a QWERTY keyboard.

    Any way you play with your touch, which is multimedia enabled and
    which is an entirely new way to engage the mind criminal case cheats of any kind of games lovers.

    Before you start to clutter up our homes and businesses more appealing, beautiful pictures, play on it
    in their mobile gadget. For a while she’s been in hibernation, or
    this could turn an hour of game, the player is presented the upgrade to the eye.

  17. September 8, 2014 at 3:34 pm

    I just couldn’t depart your website prior to
    suggesting that I actually enjoyed the usual info an individual
    provide on your guests? Is gonna be back continuously to investigate cross-check new posts

  18. September 11, 2014 at 1:21 am

    Wow, that’s what I was looking for, what a information! present here at this web site, thanks
    admin of this web site.

  19. September 11, 2014 at 4:32 am

    You could certainly see your enthusiasm within the article you write.
    The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe.
    At all times go after your heart.

  20. September 11, 2014 at 10:46 am

    Simply want to say your article is as surprising.
    The clearness in your post is simply excellent and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date
    with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  21. September 11, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this site.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own,
    personal blog now 😉

  22. September 12, 2014 at 2:20 am

    What’s up, yes this paragraph is genuinely pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it
    about blogging. thanks.

  23. September 12, 2014 at 6:19 am

    I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality
    articles or weblog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site.
    Studying this info So i am happy to convey that I have a very just right uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed.
    I most no doubt will make certain to do not forget this website
    and provides it a glance on a relentless basis.

  24. September 14, 2014 at 5:57 pm

    The system’s production of pertinent data and clear performance measurements enables operators to run their business efficiently and plan strategically.
    When creating a slogan, aim for the heart by playing up the
    emotional effect. Article Source: Mc – Kay has worked with the fitness
    industry for over 20 years now.

  25. September 17, 2014 at 12:35 am

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a
    blog post or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I
    believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Wonderful blog by
    the way!

  26. September 18, 2014 at 7:16 pm

    Hi there to all, as I am really keen of reading this weblog’s post to be updated regularly.

    It consists of nice material.

  27. September 19, 2014 at 12:01 am

    each time i used to read smaller articles or reviews
    which also clear their motive, and that is also
    happening with this piece of writing which I am reading at this
    place.

  28. September 19, 2014 at 12:51 am

    Asking questions are truly nice thing if you
    are not understanding something entirely, except this paragraph
    presents nice understanding even.

  29. September 19, 2014 at 7:36 am

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your weblog.
    You have some really good posts and I think I would be a good asset.

    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write
    some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an email if interested. Regards!

  30. September 20, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your website.
    It appears as if some of the written text within your posts are running
    off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let
    me know if this is happening to them too? This may be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Cheers

  31. September 20, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    This is really attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post.
    Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

  32. November 7, 2014 at 11:36 am

    Most likely not using specifically not with out a hire car, and the infant.
    If the surf is not happening immediately and then at your beach, obtain an experience to a different
    beach or you are doing have to walkaround.
    And with pram and rest and the infant of the equipment this was so difficult.
    But for celebration, YES.

  1. July 26, 2015 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

