Home > Going off topic, Stupid Bike Tricks > “So long and thanks for all the fish.” Douglas Adams

“So long and thanks for all the fish.” Douglas Adams

When I was in school a group of Tibetan monks visited the little backwoods college I was attending.  They owned little and laid claim to nothing.  I sat for hours each day on the upper mezzanine of the student union, sipping my 5 dollar lattés, watching as four of the youngest monks toiled with intense concentration to create a beautiful sand mandala.  Each and every grain of sand meticulously placed to create one of the most beautiful works of art I’ve ever seen.  Days later they finished; minutes after that the eldest monk took a broom and swept it away.

“Now this is about to get really interesting” I thought to myself.  I ran to the edge of the mezzanine waiting for the four young monks to whip out some pretty sweet Kung-Fu moves and lay waste to the old bastard.  Nope.  They bowed respectfully and started cleaning up the mess.  This disturbed me for weeks after.  “Why didn’t they flip out and beat the stuffing out of the old guy?  Was he some kind of retired ninja master assassin and they were afraid?  Was he packing a pistol under his robes?”

With one swipe of his broom the elder monk had taught the four younger monks valuable lessons.  Nothing is permanent and suffering comes from attachment.  I think they also learned that joy comes from the process of creating not from the thing created.   My Westernized mind could not grasp the concept of non-attachment and impermanence.  I still struggle, but I try.  As The Velo Hobo approaches the 100,000 visitor mark, I toy with the idea of hitting the “Delete This Blog” button.

I’m not a spiritual person and despite minoring in philosophy and religion, the deepest thought I think now-a-days is “how do they get tabasco sauce through that little hole in the bottle?”   But I have been thinking lately how my life might be different if I were unplugged from the matrix?   Would I be more creative?  More productive?  Would I read more books?  Spend more time with my family?   Spend more time riding than writing about riding?  Maybe. 

The Velo Hobo receives between 5,000 and 6,000 visitors a month and those numbers grow each month.  Blogging has been a fun pastime and I’ve connected with some great people.  So for now it’s business as usual, but somewhere around mid-summer I’ll have a decision to make.

Thanks for reading, Jack

  1. arlen
    February 3, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    beautifully said..
    i my self make it a habit to go through my belongings on a regular time schedule…
    i am approaching that time again…
    looking at what i give away…
    it is good for the soul to let go…
    i understand what you have shared…
    be safe…
    by the way i am getting ready for a ride north into canada…

    • The Velo Hobo
      February 3, 2012 at 4:45 pm

      Brrr, sound like a cold ride. Stay safe, Jack

  2. February 3, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Hmmm, I would miss your posts and thoughts along the way…

    • The Velo Hobo
      February 3, 2012 at 4:49 pm

      Thanks Zeke,

      It might free up more time to read other blogger’s blogs. Of course I’m still months away from a nice round 100,000, so who knows. Jack

  3. hendrikm
    February 6, 2012 at 3:13 am

    An interesting thought, Jack. I like your ponderings, and would miss them.

    • The Velo Hobo
      February 6, 2012 at 7:25 am

      Thanks Hendrik, I’m really enjoying your blog. It is to ‘go to’ blog for everything Ultralight.

  4. March 12, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thank for your time of this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoy every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

