Home > Going off topic > Pearls Before Swine Comic Strip

Pearls Before Swine Comic Strip

Pearls Before Swine Comic Strip, February 08, 2012 on GoComics.com.

Okay, I get the humor.  And yes, if I weren’t a cyclist and so many other cyclists hadn’t been killed by careless and distracted drivers, I may not find this offensive.  But I do.  What I find more offensive than the comic strip itself, is some of the comments.  The cartoonist is making a statement, ‘some cyclist are elitists or have a better-than-you attitude’.  Okay, true enough.  Some are. The problem is this sort of thing promotes the idea that the life of a person riding a bicycle is of less value than the life of a person driving.

Or am I just taking this too seriously?

Categories: Going off topic
  1. February 10, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    What’s even more sad than the strip are some of the senseless comments. Some people are simply clueless.

    • February 11, 2012 at 9:24 am

      We recently had another vehicular homicide against a bicyclist here. His friend, who was bicycling with him, remains in the hospital with major trauma to his pelvis, spine, and legs. If you think the comments left for the comic strip are senseless you should read the mindless, hateful, soulless things people said in the context of that crash.

      I hope I never understand why so many people feel that way.

      Having said that, I can see how the artist of this strip found this funny. Extremists are often funny in their extremity. It troubles me that I can see the humor as well as feel the pain.

      When I’m god, things will be very, very different. 😉

  2. February 10, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    I wish I could answer your question. It’s the same one I ask myself.

  3. arlen
    February 11, 2012 at 6:30 am

    that is awful …

  4. February 12, 2012 at 12:11 am

    I’m not familiar with the strip, and now don’t think I want to be, but it hinges on the mouse character and what he says: take him out of the picture and it’s an entirely different discussion. But he is there, and what he says is inciting motorists to run over cyclists, and that’s not acceptable for any reason, really. Verbal sparing is one thing, and I am up for that, but urging vehicular homicide is over the line regardless of the target.

  5. The Velo Hobo
    February 16, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    Damn, I’m such a bad blogger. I should have my blogging license revoked. I start a conversation and disappear for a week. Thanks for all the comments and yep I agree, this crosses the line. I’m a big fan of creative sarcasm and dark humor, but making light of violence always leaves me with the feeling that we humans are doomed. I sure other animals do cruel things to each other, but only us humans would bother to try to make it into a joke.

    Thanks for all the comments, Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

