Home > Gear > Time Capsule ~ Bungee Cords: Gear of the Gods

Time Capsule ~ Bungee Cords: Gear of the Gods

bungee

Flashback to August 26, 2009

The greatest invention of the last century has got to be bungee cords. Many would argue that duct tape, with its thousand and one uses, or super glue, with its supernatural sticking ability are grander human achievements. But nay I say, it is the humble bungee cord that has transformed man from clumsy hairless apes into the attach anything anywhere miracle workers we are today.

Here are just a few examples of the wonders that can be achieved. Read on in amazement.

Parking brake. A parking brake on a bicycle? Who’d of ever thunk it? Me silly. Since tying bungee cord loops around each handlebar just for that purpose, I’ve never had to go looking for my bike. It has always been right where I parked it. Coincidence? I don’t think so.

Ostrich bag stabilizers. Similarly I’ve tied loops with little hooks on my handlebars to hold the Ostrich bag steady.

Clothes dryer. Touring tends to stink up clothes. By carrying a small bottle of wool-lite you can rinse things out as you go. Bungeeing wet laundry to the bike and riding with unashamed carefree abandon is a wonderful way to dry them.

Extra stuff attachment device. No explanation necessary.

 

via Bungee Cords: Gear of the Gods « The Velo Hobo.

Categories: Gear
  1. April 1, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Nice!

  2. April 4, 2012 at 12:41 am

    That’s a cute little bungee cord holding your bar bag steady. Wish I thought of that. I’m not sure I understand the purpose of the parking brake though.

  3. The Velo Hobo
    April 4, 2012 at 6:12 am

    Thanks for the comments. The parking brake helps when using the kick stand with a loaded bike on uneven ground or in a stiff wind. Here in the mountains, level ground is hard to come by. Jack

  4. April 4, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    Gotcha. I suspect that trick would also alleviate the small but subtle problem of my fully-loaded bike falling over while cable locked to a rack.

  5. April 4, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    small but annoying, I mean

  6. The Velo Hobo
    April 4, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Oh sure… and having to go looking for it after a long evening at the pub. My bike tends to wander off when left unattended.

  1. June 3, 2013 at 2:48 am

Leave a Reply

