Home > Gear, ultralight bicycle touring > With Artificial Homemade Taste Added!

With Artificial Homemade Taste Added!

Idahoan Instant Imitation Mashed Potato-like Food Product was recently tested in the Velo Hobo Food Research Laboratory (aka: random roadside picnic table).  The results were surprising; they’re pretty damn good.  With a carefully hand-crafted blend of artificial and imitation flavors and the addition of homemade taste, you’re sure to find a pack or two of these in our panniers on our next trip out.

“Cooking” these tantalizing taters is a breeze.  Here’s the recipe. Bring two cups of water to a boil.  Turn off the heat and pour in the powdery potatoes. Wait about 5 minutes and you’re all done but the eating.

When I dine on fine fare like this I like to play a little game with myself.  I’ll hold a spoonful of the goodness on my tongue, close my eyes and try to guess which flavors are real and which are artificial.  Sometimes I’ll drift into deep philosophical thought.  Is any flavor truly “artificial”?  I mean, if I’m tasting it, then it must be a real flavor of something, right?  I laugh to myself thinking “These playful chemists have tricked my brain and my tongue again” and I swallow. Oh the joy of eating!

Anyhow, they’re tasty, cheap, quick to cook, available most anywhere and packed with carbs and calories. I don’t bike to eat, I eat to bike.  Some of you may chose to do it the other way around.  In which case please disregard this post.

Thanks for reading, Jack

  1. April 11, 2012 at 7:38 am

    and I see those weren’t your every day original taste taters either. Garlic parmesan to boot. You’re living high on the hog, dude – well maybe high on the artificial tater hill! Where will the June tour take you this year?

  2. The Velo Hobo
    April 11, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    We are thinking of leaving from our backdoor and ride a loop through Murphy to Tellico Plains to Robinsville and back to Bryson City. We plan to spend a day or two off the bikes in Tellico Plains Tenkara flyfishing. That’s the plan anyway. I’m thinking about 8 or 9 days out.

  3. April 15, 2012 at 6:40 am

    We’ve used those on tours with the boys – it’s hard to fill up a teenager who’s carrying most of the load (Mommy perrogative after all these years). I try to experiment with food before we leave to see what they find acceptable, and these make the grade. As you say, they are easy to find, easy to carry, and easy to add other things to for a fuller meal.

    Gina

    • The Velo Hobo
      April 15, 2012 at 8:47 am

      Thanks for the comment Gina. Yep they are filling. I really like things we can cook in one pot with just a bit of boiling water. Makes life so much simpler.
      Jack

  4. April 27, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    I’ll have to give the instant potatoes a shot.
    My favorite instant food has to be dehydrated refried beans. Not a meal by itself, but get yourself some tortillas, avocadoes, and whatever else you want to throw in, and you’ll see what I mean!

    • The Velo Hobo
      April 27, 2012 at 5:08 pm

      Sounds pretty good, I may give the beans a try.

  5. Olaf
    August 9, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    We put a slice of cheese in the middle of the hot insatant potatos for more taste and protein. It melts into the potatoes and doesn’t stick to the pan.

  6. The Velo Hobo
    August 10, 2012 at 6:06 am

    Mmm cheese makes everything taste better.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

