Home > Going off topic > Chocolate Milk as a Post Ride Recovery Drink?

Chocolate Milk as a Post Ride Recovery Drink?

First let me begin by stating for the record that I totally reject the bizarre practice of consuming a liquid that has been squeezed out of the bottom of a cow.  The underneath of bovines are not known for being particularly sanitary places and cows themselves, although very pleasant creatures to hang out with, lack the same hygiene standards as of most of us.  No judgments, I’m just saying.

But that said, chocolate milk is worth looking at as a post ride recovery beverage.  Before you start making that gagging sound, check out chocolate milks impressive numbers (impressive numbers thanks to Self-Magazine’s online data base).  As with many liquids, chocolate milk has high water content.  Water, as you may know, is an important nutrient you need to replace when dehydrated following a hard ride.  When compared to those nasty sports drinks, it has almost twice the protein and carbohydrates.  It also has calcium and a bit of sodium and sugar.

Unless I’m spending more than a couple of hours in the saddle I usually don’t worry much about a recovery drink or snack.  But if I’m spending the day or multiple days biking, I’ll make it a priority to replenish exhausted muscles.

Question: What’s your favorite recovery drink or snack?

 ~ Bonus points if anyone can name the first person who said, “I’m gonna squeeze those dangly things under that cow and drink whatever comes out”.

Categories: Going off topic
  1. May 15, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    After a long ride, I like to have water, followed up by an ice-cold Coca-Cola.

  2. May 15, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    I’m a big fan of chocolate milk. Have been for decades…Anyway, this is my go-to post ride drink. The taste and weight feel right in my mouth. Sports drinks don’t often *feel* like i’m doing anything for my body. Chocolate milk does. Ok, really? All that data just gives me permission to drink the thing I want to drink. Chocolate milk.

    • June 19, 2012 at 5:50 am

      Pretty much any Tuesday, I load up my own bike and run the wash to the laundromat at Kenilworth & Prospect. If I can carry a tent, sipleeng bag, and ground pad on the back of my bike, I can haul my wash with detergent and bleach. No problem with a good touring bike.

  3. May 15, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    I swear by chocolate milk in my recovery from sport. It really helps me feel better.

  4. The Velo Hobo
    May 16, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    My all-time favorite post ride recovery drink is a rootbeer float from our local drive-in diner. I’m warming up to chocolate milk though, I just need to focus my mind on something other than cow udders.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

