Home > Going off topic > The Saga of Wounded Knee

The Saga of Wounded Knee

My summer touring plans have been dashed against the rocks of despair (In high school I was voted most likely to grow up to be a drama queen).  My wounded knee has finally given completely out, snapped like a dry twig.  Thursday I visited the hospital to try to convince them that I had every intention to pay for my needed surgery.  The first stop was to the financial department where a tiny bookish lady carefully scrutinized me for financial worthiness.  She paused when she noticed my tattoos and asked if I had a religious preference.  I told her I would like the kosher operation if it were not too much trouble. She didn’t even crack a smile as she glowered at me over her half-moon reading glasses.

Next it was across the hall to the surgical nurse to make sure all my communicable diseases were of the common variety.  Once again I’m asked if I had a religious preference. I must have had a befuddled look on my face because she offered an explanation. She tells me it’s so the hospital can provide religious or cultural support during “the procedure”.  I tell her “No worries as I have no religion or culture that I’m aware of”.

And then it’s down the hall and up to the second floor, all on a busted knee, for an EKG and blood test. Now the hospital knows I’m an impoverished agnostic non-contagious social worker with both a heart and blood.  They decided to fix my knee.

The surgery is scheduled for Thursday.  Since touring is out for the next many months, I’ll post on rehabilitating my knee, hopefully by cycling, and anything else bike related that catches my attention.  If this sounds a bit too dull for you, check back in a few months.  I should be back to close to normal.  Okay, close to my normal.  Your normal may vary.

Jack

Categories: Going off topic
  1. May 27, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    Feeling your pain. Sending wishes for a speedy recovery!

    • The Velo Hobo
      May 27, 2012 at 4:32 pm

      Thanks much, Jack

  2. May 27, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    Best of luck my friend and may our insurance cover all of your knees, make that needs!

    • The Velo Hobo
      May 27, 2012 at 9:54 pm

      Thanks Zeke, yep I’m about to put our insurance to the test.

  3. May 28, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    Oh gosh, that sucks! I hope you are fully recovered, and soon!

    • The Velo Hobo
      May 29, 2012 at 6:09 am

      Many Thanks ha1ku. I hope the stove is working out for you. Jack

  4. May 28, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    Hope you feel better soon. I have some knee pain and I can relate to it.

    Sending good vibes your way!

    Paz 🙂

    • The Velo Hobo
      May 29, 2012 at 6:10 am

      Thanks Chandra, I’m really digging you blog!

  5. May 29, 2012 at 12:42 am

    Good luck, Jack.

    • The Velo Hobo
      May 29, 2012 at 6:12 am

      Thanks Tom. and thanks for the link to the Arkel rack. I’ve drafted up a post about Arkels line. Maybe I’ll post it while I’m recovering. Jack

      • June 19, 2012 at 5:16 am

        Nice job getting back on the bike. The bike tour looks cool. My husnbad and I are building up for Tour de Long Beach. It’s a bit shorter though. Anyway, bikes are great!!

  6. arlen
    May 29, 2012 at 6:56 am

    you should have told the clerk you are a card carrying “Wicca” and watch her twitch…
    good luck in your recovery…

    • The Velo Hobo
      May 29, 2012 at 7:31 am

      Thanks Arlen.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

