Home > Gear > Gear Review: Cadaver Cartilage

Gear Review: Cadaver Cartilage

Those of you who follow Fox News know that yesterday I had surgery to replace my anterior cruciate ligament (ACL), a crucial ligament used to stabilize the knee, with a ligament harvested from a dead guy.  Being a big fan of the macabre cult classic film “Re-Animator”, I jumped at the chance to participate in this human performance experiment.  During the next few months I’ll do a side by side comparison of my original ACL in my right knee and the re-animated ACL surgically implanted in my left knee.  I believe if the re-animated donor ACL out performs the original, my bike will pull to the right on straight roads.

Anyway, just a quick post to say that all went well.  I’ll write a more coherent and comprehensive post when this Oxycodone (also known as Hillbilly Heroin) wears off. The doctor assures me that cycling is a wonderful way to rehabilitate my knee.  I should be on my trainer in a few days and on the road within weeks.

Jack

Categories: Gear
  1. June 1, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Hey Jck, good luck with that reanimated knee!!!!

    By the way- “The Ride” starts tomorrow. You are invited to the kick-off at 3pm at the Kituwah Mound.

    http://www.cherokeeriders.org

  2. The Velo Hobo
    June 1, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Thanks so much, Hugh, but I would have to crawl to get there. I will post an announcement of the ride as soon as I stop hallucinating. Good luck on this year’s adventure, I will be following. I see Skye Littledave is riding this year. I’ve taken her spin classes at the gym. She’ll probably beat everyone there!
    Jack

  3. June 2, 2012 at 10:23 am

    a pure work in progress….
    good luck on the recovery…

    • The Velo Hobo
      June 2, 2012 at 11:42 am

      Thanks Conifir!

  4. June 2, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    I don’t know – maybe it’s just me but I think I saw your knee climbing over Richland Balsam a few moments ago. Where was the rest of you? I suggest you listen to some good Hendrix or Dead during this early convalescence. If that isn’t possible, go for watching the first season of “Justified” to tie in nicely with your Hillbilly Heroin! Best of luck with the ongoing rehab!

  5. The Velo Hobo
    June 3, 2012 at 7:12 am

    Thanks Zeke, the pain is starting to ease up. I think I’ll get off this hard stuff as soon as possible and switch to good old over the counter Alieve or Advil. I’m hoping to be ‘recovered’ enough to do the shortest Blue Ridge Breakaway ride in August. Well, that’s my goal anyway.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

