Home > Featured Riders, The Velo Hobo Weekly Reader > The Velo Hobo Weekly Reader

The Velo Hobo Weekly Reader

Hendrik goes Bikepacking in Pirkanmaa.  Check out the beautiful photography and well written trip report of this Ultralight backpacker as he applies his UL knowledge to bike packing.  His kit is neatly packed away in a beautiful frame pack.  I’m sure by now it has a nice muddy patina.

The Bicycle Touring Pro, Darren Alff, explores Iceland on an S&S coupler equipped CoMotion.  He gives us a great break down of what an adventure like this will cost.

Ruby Two Birds, Ben and Delaney, have left New York behind and are now in the corn infested wilderness of the mid-west.

And would someone please help Zeke find his Mojo.

On a personal note, I was finally able to bend my knee enough to complete a pedal stroke.  So for now I’m piloting a recumbent trainer at the physical therapist.

Here’s a totally random photo taken back when I actually rode a real bicycle:

  1. June 23, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    Hey Jack, I’m glad the knee is getting batter. And by the way- Zeke rode sweep Thursday evening and it looked like his mojo was working just fine!

  2. The Velo Hobo
    June 23, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    That’s good to hear. When the knee recovers we’ll have to get together a Western North Carolina bike bloggers ride. I think there’s only about three of us. Cheers, Jack

    • June 24, 2012 at 8:45 am

      Sounds like a good plan to me. Maybe Hugh and I can join you on a pre-Breakaway ride to help you recondition. I enjoyed formally meeting Hugh on Thursday. As he pointed out, he had ridden with us on several previous rides. I recognized his face but had not connected the dots to him being THE Hugh Lambert! 🙂

  3. The Velo Hobo
    June 24, 2012 at 8:53 am

    Hugh’s a great guy. I was honored to ride along on one of the Cherokee Riders team training rides last year in the Burning Town area. I’d like the opportunity to brush up before the Breakaway. I’m sure I’ll be doing the shortest of the ride options…but I promissed myself to stop measuring my rides and just be in the moment enjoying being on a bicycle. By the way, do you know of other WNC bike bloggers?

  4. June 25, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    Hi,

    I do not know of other local bloggers. I’ve read some of Bike Shop Girl out of Charlotte on occasion and I regularly read Steep Climbs out of Columbia, SC but that is about it for me locally.

  5. The Velo Hobo
    June 26, 2012 at 6:10 am

    Chuck at Your Hometown Hiker out of Franklin rides some, but mostly blogs on hiking and the local music scene. And there’s Spokey Joe (Andy at Bryson City Bicycles). You’d think with this being such a popular place for biking (both road and mountain) there’d be more.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

