Home > Gear > The Arkel Randonneur Series ~ just a passing glance

The Arkel Randonneur Series ~ just a passing glance

I’m more than flush with gear and I’m pretty pleased with my two setups (seen HERE and HERE).  But if I were to put together a new bike for Ultralight touring, I would take a serious look at Arkel’s line of Randonneuring gear.  Arkel has designed a line of small lightweight packs and bags to work in concert with their Randonneur rack.  Also worth a close look is the Sherpa, a backpack/trunk bag with a very cool quick release rack.

Arkel has been producing quality packs and panniers since 1988 and is headquartered in Canada.  Their panniers, if you’ve not seen them before, have a classic look and are some of the most aesthetically  pleasing I’ve seen. They’re made with tough Cordura fabric produced in the United   States and are fitted out with quality fasteners and zippers.  Arkel is known for producing high-end quality products.

A special thanks to VH reader Tom for turning me on to Arkel’s Randonneuring line.  Here is a demo video from Arkel.

Categories: Gear
  1. arlen
    June 24, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    that “arkel”system is neat…
    if i had not set myself up with my custom “UL” packs…
    i would have probably gone the “arkel” way…
    like your 2 pictures on your set up
    how is the knee doing???
    i know you are anxious to be hitting the road…
    i would be…
    i have been doing my best putting in a few extra miles for you…

  2. The Velo Hobo
    June 24, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Thanks Arlen, the knee is looking more like a knee again every day and less like hamburger.

  3. Yves
    April 26, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    The link to the video is not working… It has since been updated on Arkel YouTube channel.

  4. Magnolia
    June 13, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    Heeya i’m for the first time here. I founmd tbis board
    annd I find It trully useful & iit helped mee outt a lot.
    I hope to give something back and aid others like you aidedd me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

