Home > Gear > Bicycle Preflight Check

Bicycle Preflight Check

Here’s mine.

  • I always check my tire pressure first thing.  I use the gauge on my pump or a small hand-held tire gauge.  I’ve seen plenty of people just pinch their tire between thumb and forefinger.  No way is this even remotely accurate. Tires can be expensive and flats troublesome, so a few minutes before a ride inflating them is well worth the effort.
  • Next I’ll check my quick releases.  I do this because I’ve ridden off with the front wheel quick release flopping in the wind and didn’t notice it for about a quarter of a mile.  Luckily nothing bad came of it, but it scared me enough to always check now.
  • Next brakes.  Yep, I’ve done that too; ridden off with the front brake cable undone (I’ll bet some of you have done it too).
  • Next, the stuff I always ride with; spare tube, pump, water bottles, camera and such. I’m always tinkering with the bikes at home and I’ve been known to leave my multi-tool laying on my workbench.
  • Blinky on back? Check. Headlight if I’m going through tunnels? Check.
  • And of course, I always plunk a helmet on my noddle.  I’ve ridden so many years with my magic Styrofoam hat that I’m not sure I could ride without it.
  • As I’m riding off I’ll run the chain through the cassette and chain ring.  Not all the gears, but enough to feel confident the derailleurs are working correctly.

 

Did I forget anything?

Here’s David Fiedler’s checklist at About.com : Bicycling.  If you’re not already a subscriber, I’ve found his articles to be very informative.

Categories: Gear
  1. June 28, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    i basically run through the same list…
    but i alway7s make sure i bring water, fruit & a small snack…
    a “first aide kit” i also carry

  2. The Velo Hobo
    June 28, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    Oh yeah, a snack’s important, for sure on long rides. And a small first aid kit too. Thanks, jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

