Home > Gear > WarmShowers App for Android

WarmShowers App for Android

As frightening as this may sound, I now own an android.  I was sure I’d own a flying car first, but there’s no controlling the whims of technological advancement.  I know, I’ve railed against gadgetry, but my clunky flip phone finally failed.

That said, the thing is amazingly cool.  One of the coolest apps (that’s hip smart phone lingo I’m using) is the FREE!!! WarmShowers App.  WarmShowers, for those new to bicycle touring, is a non-profit organization of people willing to host bicycle travelers.  My wife and I have been hosting for a few years and it has been an enriching experience.

Anyway, the app lets you search on the fly for nearby hosts, find them on a Google map and read their bio and contact information.  Ask your android how to get the app.

Jack

Categories: Gear
  1. August 12, 2012 at 9:39 am

    like you i just purchased an item i have researching for a very long time…
    and this will cover what i need …
    “Goal Zero Guide 10 Plus Adventure Kit with Solo Flashlight”

  2. The Velo Hobo
    August 12, 2012 at 9:59 am

    I’ll check it out, Thanks

  3. August 13, 2012 at 1:45 am

    The WS app is great. Have the one for iPod Touch (aka iPhone sans phone.) It has gotten better with each update. (And the main website update ain’t bad either, though there are some improvements I’d still like to see.)

  4. The Velo Hobo
    August 13, 2012 at 6:11 am

    I agree the website update is an improvement over the last version. We’re doing an Outer Banks tour in a few months and hoping to stay with a host. I’ll get to check the app out in real life conditions. We’ve hosted lots of tourist, but we’ve never stayed with anyone. I’m looking forward to the experience. We usually camp along the way, or go inn to inn. I’m looking forward to trying a WarmShowers host.

    There’s a host in Asheville NC about 100 miles away. She usually gets the people who leave us heading that way and vise versa. I’ve thought about riding to her house and inviting her to do the same. I’m sure we’d have lots to talk about.

    Jack

  5. Jon
    August 21, 2012 at 8:55 am

    another good app for touring cyclists is the track my tour app…kinda an online journal that puts your photos and comments on an online map so others at home can follow your journey…check it out (its free also)

    • The Velo Hobo
      August 21, 2012 at 6:01 pm
        Sounds great. I’ll check it out. I’m a big fan of crazyguyonabike as well. Thanks Jon
    • August 30, 2012 at 10:08 pm

      I love Track My Tour. Love it enough to not be a cheapskate and upgrade to “Pro” account so I can have more than two maps!

      • The Velo Hobo
        August 31, 2012 at 6:20 am

        Although I’m not a cheapskate ‘per say’ I have been known to shop the condiment section of fast food restaurants for sporks, little packages of salad dressing, ketchup and such. I love Arby’s horsey sauce! –but yes, I’ll check out the upgrade. Probably a lot better than the teaser they put out for free.
        I’ve been following your recent posts and I’m lusting to get out for some real touring!

        Thanks, Jack

        • August 31, 2012 at 2:59 pm

          I don’t think the paid version of Track My Tour is much better, it just allows you to have more than two maps. Pretty cheap, too, three bucks if I remember.

          I didn’t realize that Arby’s has a sauce made out of horses. Pretty gross if ya ask me.
          😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

