Home > Day Tripping > Just a Photo: Ride to Nowhere on the Road to Nowhere

Just a Photo: Ride to Nowhere on the Road to Nowhere

Today’s post-work ride into the Great Smoky Mountains National Park ended with the first crack of lightning popping the ground not far from where I’m riding.  As I’m whizzing back down the mountain into Bryson City, I’m thinking how nice my Darwin Award will look on my wife’s mantle as her and her new husband Carlos burn through the last of my life insurance.

Categories: Day Tripping
  1. August 23, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    Thanks for making me grin as I bask in the Missouri heat and humidity, hoping for one little rumble of thunder to at least tease us with a drop or two of rain!

    • The Velo Hobo
      August 23, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      Yea, we need the rain but I can do without the lightning. How’s your corn anyway?

      Thanks for the comment.

  2. August 23, 2012 at 6:32 pm

    Your crack of thunder must have been heard in Haywood by people planning to go on the Thursday night ride. No one showed except me and Carolyn, the Sweep. Turned out to be a good thing as close frequent lightening accompanied by 17 mph winds hit the area just as I arrived at home. Spent my evening writing about riding…

    • The Velo Hobo
      August 23, 2012 at 6:52 pm

      That’s easy sweep duty with only two people, but I’d say you made the right decision and not chanced it.

      Thanks again for all your hard work on the BRB, I still thinking about it…can’t wait till next year!

  3. conifir
    August 23, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    that`s funny….
    burning through the last of your life insurance…
    could be those margarita evenings by the pool…
    ole`

    • The Velo Hobo
      August 23, 2012 at 6:54 pm

      Thanks Conifir, I hope you’re having better weather there.

  4. August 23, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    Ha! Carlos will just have to wait until next time. Glad you made it!

    • The Velo Hobo
      August 23, 2012 at 8:11 pm

      Thanks Pondero 😉

  5. April 13, 2014 at 3:17 am

    I’m just really satisfied together with your creating talents seeing that tactically similar to the structure for ones website. Are these claims a paid for matter or maybe do you alter that by yourself? Anyways carry on the favorable top quality publishing, it truly is extraordinary to look an awesome weblog such as this one these days.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

