Home > Featured Riders > Featured Rider: James of CycleFar.com

Featured Rider: James of CycleFar.com

The bike touring community is a small one; there’s not many of us out there. Within that small number is a subculture of ultralight enthusiasts obsessed with the challenge of touring with lighter and lighter kits. James is the author of a wonderful website on the topic of touring and ultralight travel (actually puts The Velo Hobo to shame).   James has also written an e-book on the subject. Check out CycleFar, subscribe to be updated on new posts and buy the book. I think you’ll be as pleased as I am to find such a wealth of information on this obscure topic of Ultralight Bike Touring!

Children Learn Country Flags in Zadar, Croatia (800x600)

“My name is James and I’m the Author of cyclefar.com

Though I love to cycle tour, and recently I have been captivated by ultralight touring, I’m an advocate of cycling culture in general.

 James and Ellie in Turkey (800x600)

From CycleFar

“I’m passionate about cycling for transport, utility and touring. I secretly enjoy cycling’s subversive potential to make people happy and challenge the value system of society.”

I often tour with my partner Ellie (see pics) we love to cycle pretty hard, tackle hills but then enjoy relaxing with coffee and food, lots of rest and plenty of sightseeing. We currently live in New Zealand after cycling part way here from England where we commute 100% (we don’t own a car) and like to grow our own food and live simple.

James”

Over the Alps, painful expression (800x600)

Takign a break in Austria (800x611)

Categories: Featured Riders
  1. July 12, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    Howdy! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site
    mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when browsing from my
    iphone 4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.
    If you have any recommendations, please share. Many thanks!

  2. July 15, 2014 at 11:58 am

    Hi there, constantly i used to check website posts here in the early hours in the dawn, since i enjoy to find out more
    and more.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

